Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
DH said it was darn good! Made a huge pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Super Yummy! I too (as some said below) didn't have fish stock and chicken stock instead. I also cut the recipe in half as I cook for 2. I added some fish sauce for flavor, and was short some ingredients but still turned out delicious! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This recipe is GREAT! Hubby got a salmon filet instead of smoked salmon, so we seasoned it and baked it before putting it in the chowder and it still came out amazing. It makes HUGE portions though... use the biggest stock pot you have if you're making the recipe as listed (6 servings), because it'll really make closer to 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Amazing! I substituted the fish stalk with chicken stalk. I didn't want it to get too fishy. And I did not use celery or wine. I also used half the amount of butter and half the amount of flour. It was still thick. But this soup was amazing. Definitely restaurant quality! It is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Great recipe! Didn't use bacon cause we're trying not to eat as much meat, and also didn't use the corn cause I didn't have any. Makes a huge portion following this recipe and I needed 2 large pots because I didn't have one large enough to fit it all! I'll most likely half it next next. But I froze what we didn't eat and it was great once re-heated again. Very yummy and full of flavour! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was merely ok. The dill was overpowering--the flavors were definitely NOT balanced. I will try this again and leave out the wine and most of the dill and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Loved this! Recipe as shown definitely makes far more than 6 servings tho'. Filled my 5qt dutch oven to the brim. Didn't have fish stock, so used chicken stock. Next time will plan to have fish stock and am betting it will be even better yet. Used the white wine - tasted it without, it was still good but... added it in? Huge difference, for the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILREDCV

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very good - I followed others advice and halved the recipe - still made lots. I didn't have parsley, used veggie stock instead of fish stock, used less pepper and dill, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is the best chowder I have ever had. So much flavor! I cut it in half and used chicken stock with a little fish sauce (maybe 2 T) to taste. Yukon gold instead of red potatoes, diced. I cut back just a little on the pepper but otherwise I followed the recipe. The salmon I used was Nova smoked sockeye from Trader Joes. It is more moist than some but I am sure any would be wonderful. Can't wait to make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Excellent... The only changes I made were instead of salmon I used shrimp and instead of the butter I used someones suggestion of evaporated Milk to cut back on calories... There was so much I shared with the little old lady downstairs!! We all loved it, and she thinks i'm a master chef ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie0469
Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Smoked Salmon Quiche

Fantastic brunch recipe with smoked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States