Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was merely ok. The dill was overpowering--the flavors were definitely NOT balanced. I will try this again and leave out the wine and most of the dill and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Loved this! Recipe as shown definitely makes far more than 6 servings tho'. Filled my 5qt dutch oven to the brim. Didn't have fish stock, so used chicken stock. Next time will plan to have fish stock and am betting it will be even better yet. Used the white wine - tasted it without, it was still good but... added it in? Huge difference, for the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILREDCV

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very good - I followed others advice and halved the recipe - still made lots. I didn't have parsley, used veggie stock instead of fish stock, used less pepper and dill, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is the best chowder I have ever had. So much flavor! I cut it in half and used chicken stock with a little fish sauce (maybe 2 T) to taste. Yukon gold instead of red potatoes, diced. I cut back just a little on the pepper but otherwise I followed the recipe. The salmon I used was Nova smoked sockeye from Trader Joes. It is more moist than some but I am sure any would be wonderful. Can't wait to make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Excellent... The only changes I made were instead of salmon I used shrimp and instead of the butter I used someones suggestion of evaporated Milk to cut back on calories... There was so much I shared with the little old lady downstairs!! We all loved it, and she thinks i'm a master chef ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie0469
Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Delicious! I just wished I knew how big of a pot to use beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Delightful dish. Found that it is much better if hot smoked salmon is used rather than the softer cold smoked variety. The hot smoked drier fish stay intact and gives chunks and flakes of fish rather than just flavor in the chowder. Make a half batch for a family. Make the 6 serving batch if you are having a reunion. Overall this rocks. Watch your spices if you are not into those heavy flavors. Cut down the pepper and dill if you are weak of heart and add a pinch of garlic if you are addicted to it as I am! Great Eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I used this as a base recipe but altered it dramatically. I used what I had on hand which happened to be chicken instead of salmon, so I made chicken chowder with potato and corn and it was FABULOUS! I will definitely make it again. Husband loved it too! Perfect ratio of ingredients and roux. Made it a second time with even more chicken and mixed in a little whipping cream for extra indulgence. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I've made this recipe TONS and have never heard any complaints....only great reviews! I was even told that I should sell my salmon chowder to the local restaurants because it was so tasty! I've never had anything like this chowder and I will continue to make it! The only changes I've made was using chicken broth instead of fish stock. Five stars *****!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Prep took much longer than indicated, and that was after halving the recipe. For two of us, this provided a generous enough portion for a lunch and dinner beyond the original one! Not as difficult as I thought it would be and it taught me a new technique. The flavor was great. Very good on a very cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wathgwen

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States