Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is a very good chowder and I'm always looking for seafood chowders. I halved the recipe and still ended up with a 5 quart dutch oven quite full. I didn't have any fish stock, so instead I used two cans of chicken broth. The only other change I made was that I backed way off on the pepper and the dill, only a teaspoon each. (To each his own.) This turned out very well, very rich full bodied flavor and very satisfying. The flavors of the bacon, veggies and salmon all came through together without needing so much spice, otherwise I would have given it a 5. I will put this in the rotation and the only change I would make would be to use the fish stock. Wife was happy and said to put it in the "do again" file. Thanks for the recipe and thanks for THE ABSOLUTE BEST cooking website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Loovvved this recipe! Used chicken broth instead of fish broth and a few extra of some of the veggies, but followed the spice ratios, etc. We were going to give some to our upstairs neighbor for lending us a corkscrew... but can't bear to part with one drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This makes a really large batch and I didn't have some of the ingredients. Plus, I wanted to use some left-over salmon I had made a couple of nights ago. I also used chicken broth as many other readers had done. In addition, I had the dill weed but it didn't seem appealing so I substituted it with freshly chopped kale which really was superb. The recipe offers the option of adding wine and lemon. I did this and found it really improved overall taste. Here is the ingredients I used which turned out excellently: 5 slices bacon 1 lrg onion carrots 1/2 cup water chkn broth sea salt pepper 1 cup kale 4 red potatos sliced 1 cup butter 1 cup flour 1 pint half-n-half 3/4 wine 1/4 lemon 1 pound left-over salmon Really was an excellent chowder. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I did a little revising, and knocked out tons of fat and calories. Left out the butter and added a can of 1% evaporated milk. This is a winner, and is now a staple in our freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was awesome! I wanted to make this for dinner, but knew that I would be short on time in the evening, so I tried it in my slow cooker. I cooked the bacon, onion & celery in a pan as directed, then added it to my slow cooker with the water, chix stock that I subbed for fish stock, and spices. Once that mix had a chance to heat up, I added the roux, gave it an hour or so to thicken, then threw in the remaining ingredients of Salmon, corn, etc. I like my chowder w/ a wee little kick, so I also added a little cayanne pepper & paprika. The finished recipe made a ton of chowder... more like 10 - 12 servings, and was a huge hit with my husband & bro-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Loved loved LOVED this! So did my neighbors who asked for the recipe. I made a few changes: · It says to add 1.5 tablespoons (!) of freshly ground black pepper. Thinking that had to be a mistake and fearing ruining the recipe, I used only about one teaspoon, and after the taste test didn't feel the need to add more. · To cut the fat, instead of 1 cup of butter I used 1/2 cup of Earth Balance (vegetable oil product that tastes remarkably like butter) to create the roux. If you do this, the roux will be too thick to pour and you’ll need a BIG skillet and will need to gradually add a lot of the milk until it’s a consistency that you can add to the soup. · Instead of milk I used half 2% milk and half 1/2&1/2. · I did use the (optional) white wine. That’s an absolute must! · Note-the recipe says it makes six servings. It was more like a dozen servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I cut this recipe in half and it made a whole lot. It was very good and my husband hates salmon. He said it was REALLY good even after he found out what it was. Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I personnaly would have given it a five but the husband said it needed more salmon ("where's the fish" he says). Next time I make it I will probably use less bacon, more salmon but otherwise it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
amazing chowder. would definitely make again. was a great use for the smoked salmon I received over xmas. made a half portion and was tons. froze well. dont know how often I will have smoked salmon so I would like to try this with another type of fish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roberts Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
MORE LIKE 10 STARS! This soup is like giving your taste buds a VACATION to the coast! I only changed a FEW THINGS: I used low sodium chicken broth in place of fish stock (didn't have any fish stock on hand), USED NO SALT, and replaced the 1/2 cu water with extra chicken broth. This was absolutely divine! It was layer upon layer of soul flavors dancing in our mouths! I thinned it a tiny bit with extra milk (as my roux got a bit thick). I had home smoked salmon to put in which had to be extra wonderful. I did use the wine and fresh lemon juice in the amounts suggested. WARNING - if you don't cut the recipe in HALF you will have enough soup to feed an ARMY, and half your neighborhood...lol It took a little longer to prepare then it states in the recipe, but SO WORTH the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States