Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Prep took much longer than indicated, and that was after halving the recipe. For two of us, this provided a generous enough portion for a lunch and dinner beyond the original one! Not as difficult as I thought it would be and it taught me a new technique. The flavor was great. Very good on a very cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wathgwen
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I'd neglected to read the comments before making it so I ended up with more chowder than my family can eat - or wants to eat. I should have left out the lemon juice. It made the soup a little too sour. No one in my family liked the chowder, and at least one member refused to eat it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Loved loved LOVED this! So did my neighbors who asked for the recipe. I made a few changes: · It says to add 1.5 tablespoons (!) of freshly ground black pepper. Thinking that had to be a mistake and fearing ruining the recipe, I used only about one teaspoon, and after the taste test didn't feel the need to add more. · To cut the fat, instead of 1 cup of butter I used 1/2 cup of Earth Balance (vegetable oil product that tastes remarkably like butter) to create the roux. If you do this, the roux will be too thick to pour and you’ll need a BIG skillet and will need to gradually add a lot of the milk until it’s a consistency that you can add to the soup. · Instead of milk I used half 2% milk and half 1/2&1/2. · I did use the (optional) white wine. That’s an absolute must! · Note-the recipe says it makes six servings. It was more like a dozen servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I did a little revising, and knocked out tons of fat and calories. Left out the butter and added a can of 1% evaporated milk. This is a winner, and is now a staple in our freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
WOW and Great for freezing!!! Made 1/2 batch. Used mix of clam juice and veg. broth instead of fisk stock. Also used rice flour to make it gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This soup is GREAT! My 9 yr old gave it 5 stars, too! I didn't add the white wine cuz I didn't have any on hand and I halved the butter/flour mixture to cut out some fat, but it was still rich and creamy! The soup was even yummy before I added the salmon!! It does make A LOT, but I wanted to freeze some anyway. Thanks for the recipe!!! I'll definatelly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Wow, I made it almost exactly as it said only I cut the recipe in half. I didn't use fish stock, I used chicken broth and 2% milk, 6 TBS of butter instead of 8.It was a little thinner then I like but I think it will thicken overnight. It still made three quarts when done. I did use white wine and lemon, that really makes it good. My husband loved it also. We will easily get three nice serving's each for lunch out of it. It doesn't have nearly as many calories as it said. I figure 450 a serving tops... We were lucky enough to be in Door county last week and got good, fresh smoked salmon. I will make it whenever I can get good fish. We get good fresh pepper from Penzy's , so i only used 1 1/2 teaspoons, that was plenty pepper. You gotta try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was awesome! I wanted to make this for dinner, but knew that I would be short on time in the evening, so I tried it in my slow cooker. I cooked the bacon, onion & celery in a pan as directed, then added it to my slow cooker with the water, chix stock that I subbed for fish stock, and spices. Once that mix had a chance to heat up, I added the roux, gave it an hour or so to thicken, then threw in the remaining ingredients of Salmon, corn, etc. I like my chowder w/ a wee little kick, so I also added a little cayanne pepper & paprika. The finished recipe made a ton of chowder... more like 10 - 12 servings, and was a huge hit with my husband & bro-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Probably the best soup I ever made. I used chicken stock and think it may even be a better choice (so it's not overly fishy). Also, the white wine is essential. I added no salt as my salmon was very salty. If you really want to impress someone, make them this soup. IT IS THE BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Winner, I live in the northwest and made this for a Christmas open house. This was one of three homemade soups I offerred. People love it. I used bottle clam juice for part of the fish stock volume. In the future I may make the fish stock with dried fish flakes or "dashi" since someone in my extended family is allergic to shell fish they couldn't eat this. It makes a huge amount great for a party. would cut this is half or quarter for a meal just at home. did freeze okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Villenave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States