Smoked Salmon Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Outstanding! The only modification I made was to sub in 1/2 a red and 1/2 a yellow bell pepper instead of using green. I think green bell pepper overwhelms in a lot of dishes. I served on a brunch buffet and it went faster than the homemade croissants! It was absolutely wonderful with PNW hot smoked salmon instead of lox (cold smoked salmon). I'll make this over and over again for sure. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I used Parmesan Regiano in the crust and in the cheesecake. I used half reduced fat philly and half original philly and Gruyere cheeses in the cheesecake. I didn't use the waterbath as my cheesecake pan doesn't fit in any larger dishes! This made a very large cheesecake, and took forever to bake. But it was amazing! My friends were skeptical when I told them it was a savory cheesecake, but not after they tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AELAINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I baked this in a glass pan and it baked fine, but tasted "egg"ier than I wanted it too. Maybe next time, less egg and more cheese ingredients. Definitely could have had more salmon, but was fine in this ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erial, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was amazing! I used mushrooms instead of peppers and pepper jack cheese instead of swiss. I also skipped the double pan with water and just cooked it less time. I'm telling everyone about this recipe! I can't believe how awesome, pretty, and simple it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
It was delicious and pretty easy to make. I made this dish for my coworker and had everyone requesting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Wasn't very fond of this, maybe it was just me. I do like smoked salmon and cream cheese on bagels, but blending them together like this, the texture wasn't very appealing to me. I would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was pretty good, but it felt like it was missing something. I think I'll add more salmon the next time I make it, and see if that helps. Texture was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
To die for!!!! Serve a wedge of this on a platter with a spreading knife. Garnish with a bit more smoked salmon and serve with crackers on the side. It would be outrageously rich as a plated appetizer, but as an hors d'oeuvre on a buffet it's perfect. Serves WAY more than 12 that way too. I prefer it with out any bell pepper. FYI- I use a hot smoked salmon vs. cold smoked such as lox. It has a flaky texture and more smoky flavor that I think works better for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Made my own base using 200g Parmesan, 200g fresh breadcrumbs and 100g of melted butter. Also baked as normal cheesecake without water pan - much quicker! Made filling exactly as per recipe and it was utterly delicious. Took end result to a friend's party and nobody could believe it was home made! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I follow the recipe exactly. I have made this several times and it has been a hit every time with many people asking for the recipe. I serve as an appetizer. This recipe makes a large cheesecake. Once I cut the cheesecake into 6 wedges and took 3 wedges to one party and 3 wedges to another party the next day. Arrange wedges on a thin bed of lettuce. Garnish with fresh dill and cherry tomatoes. Between the wedges place chopped onion, capers and lemon wedges. Serve with favorite crackers. The cheesecake can be made a day ahead of time and brought to room temperature before serving. I have not tried freezing it, but I think it would do well. This is a great recipe, but costly and time consuming. One time I added red food coloring to tint this pink for a baby shower and it came out beautiful and there was none left. I use the thin sliced smoked salmon in the vacuumm type packs as opposed to the steak type salmon, but I am sure that would work also. Will definately make again because....they BEG me to, so what else can I do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States