Smoked Salmon & Watercress Salad With Red Onion-Caper Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I had a lot of watercress and found this. I mixed the watercress 50/50 with spring mix. I'm watching calories so I also cut the olive oil back to a few tablespoons and added an equal amount of water. I read the comments about adding something sweet so used Honey Dijon mustard. But the lemon/vinegar goes very well with the peppery bite of the watercress. Have most of a smoked filet flaked in a bag and with the dressing pre made this will be a super quick salad to whip up the next few days. I smoke salmon pretty frequently and this will be a regular rotation for the cold leftovers. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was a great salad. I used arugula instead of watercress. Also added some garden tomatoes that added a nice touch. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I wasn't expecting this, but this recipe is very, very good. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was very good. I had never eaten watercress before and was disappointed with the taste. However, once it is combined with the salmon and dressing, it tastes great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
was looking for a watercress salad as we have a creek full of the stuff. Made it as written/it was good...liked the lemon vinegarette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I have to admit I didn't have the watercress but the rest of it was spot on. I served this at the family Christmas party and it was the hit of the affair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trufant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This recipe is so great. My husband had a lot of left over smoked salmon and we were searching for a recipe to use it in. We loved it. Spinach and spring greens can be substituted for watercress and we highly recommend throwing in some sweet peppers and avocados. This is definitely going into the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Eastin Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I used mixed field greens and smoked salmon from Costco. Overall this is a delicious salad except that the dressing is too sour. I halved the recipe and served it as a meal for my husband and I. We both agreed that it's a delicious and healthy meal but if I make it again, I'll probably halve the amount of lemon juice and vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I'm rating this on the vinaigrette more so than the salad because the salad as written is quite simple. I made the dressing a day ahead of time to let the flavors meld. It is quite pungent with the red onions, dijon mustard, capers, lemon juice, and rice wine vinegar. But those strong flavors complement the simple salad perfectly! In addition to the lettuce and smoked salmon, I threw in pinenuts, grape tomatoes cut in half, and one avocado cubed. The creamy avocado and fresh smoked salmon were fabulous together. This is truly a salad fit for a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I added slices of red potato to the salad and served an entire filet of salmon on top of each persons salad. Very elegant and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States