Smoked Gouda Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
5 star recipe with the follwing modifications. I used 8 oz of smoked gouda and about 5 oz of sharp cheddar. I reduced the amount of milk to 1 and 1/2 cups. I also added a liberal amount of garlic salt. This resulted in a very cheesy sauce and a delicious taste. The gouda is quite strong and next time I may reduce the amount of gouda and increase the amount of cheddar. Also topped with bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I had a wine & cheese party a few days before making this & used this recipe as a GREAT use for my left over cheeses. I not only used smoked gouda, i used jalapeno havarti & marble cheddar. The key to this recipe is to make your base of the sauce w/ the milk & butter & then keep adding whatever cheese you want to use until the sause is cheesy enough for your taste. I also added a pinch of cayenne & red pepper flakes to kick it up a little.i used probably double of what the recipe called for but I like it really smooth & cheesy, it wasn't bland, it was yummy, would totally make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
There isn't enough sauce in this recipe. I would recommend doubling the sauce. I already doubled the amount of cheese in mine. The sauce has a good flavor, but there isn't enough of it. The recipe has potential as a grown up Mac and Cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Made this to go with our fried chicken dinner on Sunday and it was loved by all! When I make mac and cheese I use a lot more cheese then called for and this was no exception. I used one wedge of smoked gouda and one wedge of plain gouda. While making the roux I also added garlic and onion powders, white pepper and dry mustard. Topped the dish with additional cheese and buttered panko crumbs. Awesome and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe is great, but I added a few things I saw in some gouda mac and cheese at a restaurant: 1 shallot sliced, ham slivered, chives to garnish, and 1 whole head of roasted garlic. It really punched up the flavor and made it absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Absolutely excellent, even my fussy 3 and 5 years kids loved it. Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I tried this recipe and ended up doubling the amount of Gouda and cutting the amount of noodles in half, and that was almost perfect. All in all, it was good for something unique but I wouldn't have it more then once a month because the flavor is rather strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Just made this today. We loved it. I have to admit I am not a measurer, but essentially do follow the recommendations. I used smoked gouda and some raclette cheese (french melting cheese) which is mild and adds a lot of creaminess. I also tossed in cream cheese, about 4 oz. Here's where I made this AWESOME - I added some crisp bacon to the top. OMG! This was good, I felt like I needed a cigarette afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lottieclottie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Gouda flavor was barely present, sauce was very soupy. This would be tastier with a more aged gouda than the variety available in my grocery. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
As Mac and Cheese goes, it is a good recipe. I did not like the gouda with the pasta, kind of bland. I will try it again and use a sharp cheddar. Maybe bread crumbs on top with shredded Gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Veggie Elbows Mac and Cheese

An easy veggie pasta tossed with okra and a creamy, three-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States