Smoked Gouda Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Very good. I used around 6 oz. smoked Gouda. I also added 2 cloves of fresh diced garlic and 1 diced shallot while the butter was melting. Coated with a little pepper and garlic salt; it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Despite the iffy reviews, I decided to give this one a shot anyways since I was intrigued by the addition of gouda cheese. I halved the recipe since it was just going to be eaten by myself and my boyfriend (and we are trying to eat healthy). I cheated and made a few modifications: I used 2 oz. smoked gouda, 1/4 cup shredded swiss, and 1/4 c. fat-free shredded cheddar along with medium shell pasta. Cooked and baked as directed. It turned out well..kind of dry, since I used skim milk, but once I topped it with a bit of grated parmesan, it was pretty good. Not the creamy, decadent mac n cheese I love, but flavorful nonetheless. I'll probably make it again and experiment with different cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Good but missing something. Not sure but needed more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used 6 oz smoked gouda & 8 oz sharp cheddar cheese, very nice combo. I added a sprinkle of garlic powder and paprika to the sauce mixture before adding the cheese. I used regular pepper instead of white and didn't add any salt, the cheese is salty enough. I used 1.5 cups milk. Definitely cover with foil while baking so it doesn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shermil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Made this to go with our fried chicken dinner on Sunday and it was loved by all! When I make mac and cheese I use a lot more cheese then called for and this was no exception. I used one wedge of smoked gouda and one wedge of plain gouda. While making the roux I also added garlic and onion powders, white pepper and dry mustard. Topped the dish with additional cheese and buttered panko crumbs. Awesome and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe is great, but I added a few things I saw in some gouda mac and cheese at a restaurant: 1 shallot sliced, ham slivered, chives to garnish, and 1 whole head of roasted garlic. It really punched up the flavor and made it absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Great recipe for left over cheese after a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
5 star recipe with the follwing modifications. I used 8 oz of smoked gouda and about 5 oz of sharp cheddar. I reduced the amount of milk to 1 and 1/2 cups. I also added a liberal amount of garlic salt. This resulted in a very cheesy sauce and a delicious taste. The gouda is quite strong and next time I may reduce the amount of gouda and increase the amount of cheddar. Also topped with bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Excellent! It is one of the few recipes that I use more than once a month. I love cheese so I always add more than is listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Great recipe!! I doubled it to make a large batch. There was quite a bit of milk and the sauce wasn't getting thick enough so I had to make another roux to add to it. I used a whole block of gouda to make it really cheesy and added some crumbled bacon on the top. It was delicious!!! For those who think it's bland try adding the bacon. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Connellsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States