Smoked Gouda Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Not my favorite Mac and Cheese. Just as others mention, you will want to add more cheese and cut down the milk. When I first read this recipe, I thought it needed ham or bacon which I had neither. Luckily, I had some bacon in the morning and still had the bacon grease, so I used it in sub of butter. I also added Smoked Paprika and onion. In the end this Mac and Cheese didn't cut it compared to others I've made in the past. I think Gouda is not a powerful enough cheese to stand alone, so I used Extra Sharp White Cheddar with it, but it still was a bit lack luster. If I make it again, I would add sausage, ham or bacon and add some kind of veggie. Broccoli or roasted Butternut Squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdbenson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I will not make this again. I increased the amount of sauce slightly, because I like a creamier mac and cheese, and more than doubled the amount of cheese called for, and the gouda flavor was barely noticeable. This dish was dry and lacking in the flavor department. A disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was a yummy recipe. I used 2 tbsp butter & 2 tbsp flour, and 2 cups warmed milk. I used 8oz of maccaroni pasta and 2 cups of jalapeno havarti. It was creamy. I didn't add the salt or pepper because of the type of cheese I used. Not a bite leftover. Served along with broiled tomatoes & tossed green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Good dish, but needed a punch. Will play with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
It was okay. But I would not spend the time making it again. I added much more cheese than it called for too and it was still bland. Sorry :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
A good idea, with a few modifications. I added about 8 oz cheddar and 1/4 tsp dry mustard, and we all loved that version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Just made this today. We loved it. I have to admit I am not a measurer, but essentially do follow the recommendations. I used smoked gouda and some raclette cheese (french melting cheese) which is mild and adds a lot of creaminess. I also tossed in cream cheese, about 4 oz. Here's where I made this AWESOME - I added some crisp bacon to the top. OMG! This was good, I felt like I needed a cigarette afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lottieclottie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erin
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
yummy. i used lots of smoked gouda, about 1/2 lb. i also used a pasta that was sort of half shell, half elbow which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Great tasting. Came out with a great sauce consistency and I reduced the recipe as just wanted to try it out first. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Really pretty good recipe! I would echo what others have said: add more cheese, add less (or sub H&H) milk. I do 7 oz. smoked gouda, 1-2 oz. of asiago, and 2 cups of whole milk. I think that the asiago adds an intriguing bite while also muddling the smoke flavor (my wife is not a big fan of smoked anything). I also add bread crumbs and parmesan topping, but that is just my preference for homemade mac & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States