Smoked Gouda Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
VARIATION: I made this with pureed broccoli & cooked chicken, in which case you need to only use about 1 c. milk to account for the additional water in those ingredients. Also, I would recommend using 6 oz of gouda and topping the dish with shredded cheddar. The recipe does not mention to cook this UNCOVERED in the oven, to brown the top. ENJOY! My kids all loved this, from my vegetarian (snuck the chicken in) to my veggie hater (couldn't pick out the broccoli)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Not my favorite Mac and Cheese. Just as others mention, you will want to add more cheese and cut down the milk. When I first read this recipe, I thought it needed ham or bacon which I had neither. Luckily, I had some bacon in the morning and still had the bacon grease, so I used it in sub of butter. I also added Smoked Paprika and onion. In the end this Mac and Cheese didn't cut it compared to others I've made in the past. I think Gouda is not a powerful enough cheese to stand alone, so I used Extra Sharp White Cheddar with it, but it still was a bit lack luster. If I make it again, I would add sausage, ham or bacon and add some kind of veggie. Broccoli or roasted Butternut Squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdbenson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I will not make this again. I increased the amount of sauce slightly, because I like a creamier mac and cheese, and more than doubled the amount of cheese called for, and the gouda flavor was barely noticeable. This dish was dry and lacking in the flavor department. A disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was a yummy recipe. I used 2 tbsp butter & 2 tbsp flour, and 2 cups warmed milk. I used 8oz of maccaroni pasta and 2 cups of jalapeno havarti. It was creamy. I didn't add the salt or pepper because of the type of cheese I used. Not a bite leftover. Served along with broiled tomatoes & tossed green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Good dish, but needed a punch. Will play with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
It was okay. But I would not spend the time making it again. I added much more cheese than it called for too and it was still bland. Sorry :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
A good idea, with a few modifications. I added about 8 oz cheddar and 1/4 tsp dry mustard, and we all loved that version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Just made this today. We loved it. I have to admit I am not a measurer, but essentially do follow the recommendations. I used smoked gouda and some raclette cheese (french melting cheese) which is mild and adds a lot of creaminess. I also tossed in cream cheese, about 4 oz. Here's where I made this AWESOME - I added some crisp bacon to the top. OMG! This was good, I felt like I needed a cigarette afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lottieclottie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erin
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
yummy. i used lots of smoked gouda, about 1/2 lb. i also used a pasta that was sort of half shell, half elbow which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Great tasting. Came out with a great sauce consistency and I reduced the recipe as just wanted to try it out first. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States