Smoked Gouda Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Millers
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Add more cheese. I used 5 oz. smoked Gouda with 2 oz. sharp cheddar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Easy, but no flavor. I would have doubled the salt and added 2 cups of cheddar cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I also doubled the Gouda cheese but followed the recipe exactly! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Best bake mac cheese that doesn't clump up and gets grainy. I parboil my pasta only 4 minutes and let it finish cooking in the oven covered with foil for 15 to 20min. Pasta isn't mushy or dried up this way. I use this as my base when I want to make a tex-mex mac and cheese with leftover burrito/taco filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made this for supper tonight - pretty good! As did others, I also tweaked. I used 8 oz. shell mac, 8 oz. smoked gouda, 5 oz. extra sharp cheddar (we love cheese!), 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, 1 tsp. onion powder, 1 tsp. garlic salt and only 2 c. milk. I also topped it with 6 TB panko breadcrumbs mixed with 2TB melted butter and 6-8 slices chopped, cooked, bacon. Because of the extra cheese it did get a little "grainy" in texture but the flavor was awesome! Next time I will try using regular gouda and smoked cheddar - just for a little twist. Yep, we're lucky here - we don't live far from a fresh cheese and dairy shop so the combination of cheeses I can try is almost unlimited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nekoosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
nothing like the blue moose mac n cheese.....thats the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Gouda does not melt very easily so do shred well. I added powdered mustard for some zing, cheddar and Parmegean cheese to tone down the Gouda cheese. Added more flour to thicken up the milk, so I would reduce the amount of milk to 1.5 cups. Different spin on Mac & Cheese made this dish good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Definitely not enough sauce, and even with 8 oz. of smoked gouda, not enough gouda flavor. I'd suggest either cutting the pasta in half, or doubling the sauce and using more gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made this exactly to specifications. I may never eat regular mac and cheese again. I mean it was delicious. The only thing I can say is that I would have like it to be a tad more creamy but otherwise AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DES717

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
VARIATION: I made this with pureed broccoli & cooked chicken, in which case you need to only use about 1 c. milk to account for the additional water in those ingredients. Also, I would recommend using 6 oz of gouda and topping the dish with shredded cheddar. The recipe does not mention to cook this UNCOVERED in the oven, to brown the top. ENJOY! My kids all loved this, from my vegetarian (snuck the chicken in) to my veggie hater (couldn't pick out the broccoli)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States