Smoked Fish Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Having lived in So. Florida for 10 years, the thing that I've really missed (besides the year-round perfect weather!) is smoked fish dip! I came to this site (and several others) specifically looking for it. I don't know what chef you guys mugged for this recipe, but it's as good as any that I had when I lived there!! I made my first batch using the wrong fish, (fresh catfish), and it was still delicious! Warning, if you use anything other than whiting or white fish, the seasonings have to be increased considerably! I serve this with sliced jalapenos, crackers, lemon wedges,and celery. Yummy with a capital Yum! Thanks Chuck & Chris!! Someone in Texas is really delighted to have this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This dip was great! I used salmon that I had smoked on the barby, so I omitted the liquid smoke. My teenager said it was the first time she ever had fish she liked. I was apprehensive that the taste would be bland, because the recipe lacks some of the "usual gang of suspects" in a dip, such as cream cheese, garlic, onions, etc. No worries, this allowed the flavor of the fish to come out. And it's low-fat! This dip will now be my standard dish to take to dinners and events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I live on the west coast of FL and this recipe is super close to the best fishspreads on the beach here. serve it on crackers with lemon slices and hot sauce and watch the tide come in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I live on Florida's West Coast and here, we call it fish "spread". This recipe can be modified if fish isn't "smoked" and be good as the restaurants. I just made mine and it's terrific. Here's what I did to modify the recipe... I used tilapia, just a plain white fish (because that's what I had in the refrigerator). I marinated with lime juice. I cooked the fish in a pan with just a tiny bit of butter on high heat so it got crusty on the outside... just a few minutes on each side if the fish is thin. No need for a messy food processor! I sliced into tiny pieces, but in a bowl with all the ingredients in the recipe EXCEPT, I was liberal with the Old Bay and the cracked pepper. A little bit of garlic powder thrown in, too. Also, if you're serving this as an hor d'oeuvre for a crowd, you'll want to double the recipe. Use an ice cream scoop to make a rounded serving or two on leafy lettuce. In Florida, fish spread is served with Captains wafer and sometimes Tortilla Chips. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doreenmary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this recipe with smoked amberjack that we caught and smoked ourself.Did not use food processer just flaked fish with fork.Put on crackers with hot sauce and cold beer YUM,YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly... and it tasted bland and gritty! I wasn't going to let $9 worth of smoked whitefish go to waste, so I added a couple more dashes of wor. sauce, 10 dashes of tabasco, an extra pinch of Old Bay, and 1T each of mayo and sour cream. My family seemed to like it (no requests for the recipe), but I was disappointed. Too much work for so little reward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I'm a native Floridian and my husband and I LOVE smoked fish dip. This was my first attempt at making it myself. A friend gave my husband a bunch of smoked mullet and this is what we did with it. This recipe is very close to what is served in the local restaurants. I added an extra tablespoon of mayo and sour cream and omitted the liquid smoke. Next time I might try adding a little red onion. Served with crackers, lemon wedges and hot sauce. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Added a TBSP of Light cream cheese and it was PERFECT!!!! Just like in the UP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Being from the west coast of Fla and know about good smoked fish dip this is as close as it get's to perfect...also don't use catfish , I'm still laughing at that , thanks for making my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Great recipe. For those of you that are disappointed that it doesn't taste like the gulf coast version might not be using the right fish. We use mullet and the flavor also depends on the person smoking the millet. I am from the gulf coast and we smoke the millet with oak and then make the dip. You can come close with other fish but it just isn't the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cross City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States