Smoked Fish Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I caught a 25 pound wahoo on Tuesday. We ate it steaks on the grill and brought the rest to the smoke house. I made this dip tonight and it is better than any I have had in the local restaurants. I served it on crackers with jalapeño slices and fresh lemon from my tree. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Quite good w/ whitefish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe, tasted it, added more smoke, and enjoyed! Theres still an element that is missing but this dip is still very close to the dip Ive had in florida. I eat mine on a cracker with a piece of sweet onion and a small amount of sliced jalapeno. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
i thought this was a really great recipe, and pretty easy for most people. Although i went the extra step. Instead of buying smoked whitefish, i smoked it myself and the dip was excellent. Like most american families i don't have a smoker. So, i bought this little wood chip box and placed it near the holes where the propane leaks out and placed aluminum foil on the grill plates, this turned out very nicely. WITH THE WOOD CHIPS YOU MUST PLACE THEM IN WATER TO GET THE SMOKE TO RISE. I soaked the wood chips in Blue moon Beer to get more Flavor. Great recipe, Great Food, Great Times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I used baked tilapia and it turned out nicely. I did season the fish with old bay and lime prior to cooking and I upped the sour cream, old bay and hot sauce (I like my food a little spicier) and omitted the liquid smoke. Also really no need for a food processer, it blended well with just a spoon. It seemed a little runny at first, but after a half hour in the freezer it was perfect consistency. Brought it to a party with some large sesame wafers, when those ran out my friends continued eating it with tortilla chips. Went over great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great tasting, but I modified it a wee bit, also added 1 tablespoon of cream cheese, extra old bay and a little extra lemon! Topped the crackers off with some jalapenos and crystal hot sauce! Very happy with the way it turned out and it tastes much better after a few hours in the fridge. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
TEN STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I LOVE this recipe and so much appreciate this CHEAP trip back to West Palm Beach FLA! I have made it exactly as written above and it was the rave of my parties. I have used other fish and have modified slightly to suit. I've used trout and salmon although the best is the whitefish. I do not recommend mackerel. Couldn't be easier to make! Thank you! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I live in Treasure Island Florida and this recipe is perfect! I didn't use the food processor, I use smoked mullet that we smoked our self. I took it to a neighborhood gathering and everyone wanted to know where I got it! I did squeeze half a lemon on it at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Dip was bland even after adding a little more hot sauce. We did use salmon instead of whitefish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States