Smoked Chile Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
OMG! This stuff is beyond good! It's smokey, slightly sweet and definitely spicy! I used a 14 oz. bag of cole slaw mix vs. shredding cabbage. I used Hellman's light mayo and only 1 Tbsp. of chipolte peppers in adobo sauce because man are those peppers ever hot! I would add those to taste as you mix the dressing. Since I had cut that in half and yet wanted to maintain a level of smokiness, I added 1/4 tsp. of smoked paprika. I mixed everything together and let it set in the fridge for a couple of hours. This stuff is fabulous! It was perfect with "Chili Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Apricot Ginger Glaze" from this site. I can't wait to try this with pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
So good! I used 1/2 mayo, 1/2 plain yogurt and used a tad less chipotle/adobo sauce because I have wimpy tastebuds. Really excellent flavor combinations. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I got this recipe on top of my Hellman's jar. Figured it would be a hit as I like all the ingredients less the chipotles in adobe which I had never tried. I loved it! I used ingredients as shown except I only used 1/4 cup of mayo (and didn't miss it). Now I need more recipes with chipotles.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Yum-a-licious! I didn't really measure the ingredients, but followed it as-written but dropped out the cilantro (BF doesn't like) and threw in some red pepper because I had some chopped. A bag of slaw mix made prepping super easy and I didn't end up with a ton of extra cabbage. It tastes good right away but even better after letting it sit. Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
So good. I used lite mayo. Did not change anything else. This was so good. VERY spicy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Eh...this was okay, but I was expecting better. The flavor profile sounded so interesting. I'm not sure exactly what it needs. Maybe just one tablespoon chipotle? Maybe a little vinegar? Maybe it's just not my thing. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This dish went really well with our pulled pork sandwiches. Due to a mix-up, ds got parsley instead of cilantro, so did not use cilantro (or parsley). After reading the other reviews, I chickened out on the adobo peppers and added red pepper instead. I thought the red pepper would be easier to control. Regardless, we loved this cole slaw. I used a bag of shredded cole slaw mix and the dressing was really just enough for the whole bag. Next time I plan on trying some adobo peppers so I will plan on updating my review accordingly. Until then, nice change of pace..cole slaw with a little kick plus easy to throw together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This cole slaw was pretty good. I was expecting it to be really spicy, but it wasn't too bad. My husband really liked it and my 3 year old ate a few bites of his. I paired it with a Mexican casserole to stay with a Mexican/Southwest style meal. We will definitely make this again when we get tired of the regular cole slaws. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
no offense to anyone but this has got to be one of the worse things I have ever tasted. Maybe I did something wrong. I used half the amount of cabbage and onion because I like more sauce in my cole slaw and the sauce smelled sooooo good but when I tasted it a few hours later it was very bitter and way to hot and I love hot and spicy food but this was not a good hot and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Love, love, love this slaw! It is requested by friends every time we get together! Last time I made it, I used packaged broccoli slaw and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States