Smoked Chile Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
OMG! This stuff is beyond good! It's smokey, slightly sweet and definitely spicy! I used a 14 oz. bag of cole slaw mix vs. shredding cabbage. I used Hellman's light mayo and only 1 Tbsp. of chipolte peppers in adobo sauce because man are those peppers ever hot! I would add those to taste as you mix the dressing. Since I had cut that in half and yet wanted to maintain a level of smokiness, I added 1/4 tsp. of smoked paprika. I mixed everything together and let it set in the fridge for a couple of hours. This stuff is fabulous! It was perfect with "Chili Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Apricot Ginger Glaze" from this site. I can't wait to try this with pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
So good! I used 1/2 mayo, 1/2 plain yogurt and used a tad less chipotle/adobo sauce because I have wimpy tastebuds. Really excellent flavor combinations. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I got this recipe on top of my Hellman's jar. Figured it would be a hit as I like all the ingredients less the chipotles in adobe which I had never tried. I loved it! I used ingredients as shown except I only used 1/4 cup of mayo (and didn't miss it). Now I need more recipes with chipotles.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Yum-a-licious! I didn't really measure the ingredients, but followed it as-written but dropped out the cilantro (BF doesn't like) and threw in some red pepper because I had some chopped. A bag of slaw mix made prepping super easy and I didn't end up with a ton of extra cabbage. It tastes good right away but even better after letting it sit. Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
So good. I used lite mayo. Did not change anything else. This was so good. VERY spicy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Eh...this was okay, but I was expecting better. The flavor profile sounded so interesting. I'm not sure exactly what it needs. Maybe just one tablespoon chipotle? Maybe a little vinegar? Maybe it's just not my thing. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This dish went really well with our pulled pork sandwiches. Due to a mix-up, ds got parsley instead of cilantro, so did not use cilantro (or parsley). After reading the other reviews, I chickened out on the adobo peppers and added red pepper instead. I thought the red pepper would be easier to control. Regardless, we loved this cole slaw. I used a bag of shredded cole slaw mix and the dressing was really just enough for the whole bag. Next time I plan on trying some adobo peppers so I will plan on updating my review accordingly. Until then, nice change of pace..cole slaw with a little kick plus easy to throw together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This cole slaw was pretty good. I was expecting it to be really spicy, but it wasn't too bad. My husband really liked it and my 3 year old ate a few bites of his. I paired it with a Mexican casserole to stay with a Mexican/Southwest style meal. We will definitely make this again when we get tired of the regular cole slaws. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
no offense to anyone but this has got to be one of the worse things I have ever tasted. Maybe I did something wrong. I used half the amount of cabbage and onion because I like more sauce in my cole slaw and the sauce smelled sooooo good but when I tasted it a few hours later it was very bitter and way to hot and I love hot and spicy food but this was not a good hot and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Love, love, love this slaw! It is requested by friends every time we get together! Last time I made it, I used packaged broccoli slaw and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States