Smilejenna's Lumpia Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good. Adjust garlic and red pepper flakes to taste. I added almost twice as much red pepper flakes and only made half the recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
A wonderful sweetness & tiny bit of spice is the perfect compliment for lumpias, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This sauce was absolutely delicious... I followed the recipe except for the garlic I just used some Garlic-Jalapeno paste, and I put more crushed red pepper... I love spicy... and a friend also commented this could even be used for chicken wings... Haha I tasted the sauce and at first it tasted sweet then you feel the hotness after about 15 seconds lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jammin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Everyone enjoyed it, a bit sweet but it went really well with the lumpia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My family and friends loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Definitely needed more pepper (we used a about a TBS of ground red pepper) and is a tad too sweet, but all in all a GREAT sauce for lumpia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peigi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I liked this recipe very much. My husband though thought that it was just too sugary, but he likes sweet and sour sauce. I thought that this tasted better than sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yackyyan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Tasty and very easy sauce. I upped the red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon & it really gave it a great heat. Withouth the spicy notes it would be way too syrupy sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This sauce is very simple to prepare. It was too sweet for my families taste. I added rice wine vinegar which cut the sweetness very well. I also added 3/4 of a tablespoon of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Really a great sauce for lumpia. I halfed the sugar and it was just right, for us. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States