Smashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Easy, and delicious. I didn't have an orange, so I substituted with std orange juice, and it turned well. This will be a fall staple at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Great way to jazz up sweet potatoes! I didn't have any bourbon so I just added enough orange juice to give it the right consistency. I left off the marshmallows to cut down on calories. Was still sweet but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This is so good. Not too sweet. I chose to leave the marshmellows out. I have made it several times now and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was a hit both times I prepared it! Once I brought it to a picnic on the trail party and it was great heated in a fireplace! Second time it was just as good for a Thanksgiving side dish... Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
WOW I CANT BELIEVE I COOKED SOMETHING SO DELICIOUS!! PERFECT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving brunch!! I worried that I overestimated and made too much but there wasn't a single bite left. Didn't use bourbon, and subbed 1/3 cup of OJ for the orange. Instead of the marshmallows, I reserved about 2 T of the brown sugar and sprinkled it on top and broiled for 5 min. at the end. It looked nice that way until it sloshed around in the car on the way to family. But it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Have made this for every Thanksgiving and Christmas for the past 3 years and has been such a hit. I get request evrey holiday to make it. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flis 1
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I had to use canned sweet potatoes. I didn't have oranges either so I substituted clementines ('lil cuties) for the juice and zest. I added walnut pieces to the top and pushed them into the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flis 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This was very good but the orange flavor was overpowering. Might be good for someone who doesn't like the flavor of sweet potatoes. Next time I make it (and I'll definitely make it again) I'll half the amount of orange the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is a great way to prepare sweet potatoes! I cut the sugar to 1/4 c., use 1/4 c. o.j. (no zest) and cut the bourbon to 1/4 c. And I don't use the marshmallows. It's still plenty sweet and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EastNashMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States