Smashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This is so good. Not too sweet. I chose to leave the marshmellows out. I have made it several times now and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Yummy! Didn't have the bourbon or the pumpkin pie spice, so added allspice, cinnamon and nutmeg. Browned the marshmallows as recommended. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This was very good but the orange flavor was overpowering. Might be good for someone who doesn't like the flavor of sweet potatoes. Next time I make it (and I'll definitely make it again) I'll half the amount of orange the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Easy, and delicious. I didn't have an orange, so I substituted with std orange juice, and it turned well. This will be a fall staple at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is a great way to prepare sweet potatoes! I cut the sugar to 1/4 c., use 1/4 c. o.j. (no zest) and cut the bourbon to 1/4 c. And I don't use the marshmallows. It's still plenty sweet and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EastNashMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was a hit both times I prepared it! Once I brought it to a picnic on the trail party and it was great heated in a fireplace! Second time it was just as good for a Thanksgiving side dish... Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
WOW I CANT BELIEVE I COOKED SOMETHING SO DELICIOUS!! PERFECT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Not sure what I did wrong, but the sweet potatoes didn't get tender enough and I ended up having to put them in the food processor. A mess! The finished product tasted good, but wasn't a huge departure from traditional sweet potato dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimholtkc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flis 1
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I had to use canned sweet potatoes. I didn't have oranges either so I substituted clementines ('lil cuties) for the juice and zest. I added walnut pieces to the top and pushed them into the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flis 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Have made this for every Thanksgiving and Christmas for the past 3 years and has been such a hit. I get request evrey holiday to make it. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States