Smashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This is so good. Not too sweet. I chose to leave the marshmellows out. I have made it several times now and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This was very good but the orange flavor was overpowering. Might be good for someone who doesn't like the flavor of sweet potatoes. Next time I make it (and I'll definitely make it again) I'll half the amount of orange the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Yummy! Didn't have the bourbon or the pumpkin pie spice, so added allspice, cinnamon and nutmeg. Browned the marshmallows as recommended. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Easy, and delicious. I didn't have an orange, so I substituted with std orange juice, and it turned well. This will be a fall staple at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was a hit both times I prepared it! Once I brought it to a picnic on the trail party and it was great heated in a fireplace! Second time it was just as good for a Thanksgiving side dish... Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Not sure what I did wrong, but the sweet potatoes didn't get tender enough and I ended up having to put them in the food processor. A mess! The finished product tasted good, but wasn't a huge departure from traditional sweet potato dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimholtkc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
WOW I CANT BELIEVE I COOKED SOMETHING SO DELICIOUS!! PERFECT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving brunch!! I worried that I overestimated and made too much but there wasn't a single bite left. Didn't use bourbon, and subbed 1/3 cup of OJ for the orange. Instead of the marshmallows, I reserved about 2 T of the brown sugar and sprinkled it on top and broiled for 5 min. at the end. It looked nice that way until it sloshed around in the car on the way to family. But it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is a great way to prepare sweet potatoes! I cut the sugar to 1/4 c., use 1/4 c. o.j. (no zest) and cut the bourbon to 1/4 c. And I don't use the marshmallows. It's still plenty sweet and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EastNashMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Have made this for every Thanksgiving and Christmas for the past 3 years and has been such a hit. I get request evrey holiday to make it. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States