Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Excellent, with accurate cooking times and temps. Since I was serving this with another side dish that already had herbs I omitted them here, just brushing the smashed potatoes with olive oil and sprinkling them with sea salt and pepper before baking. I used Baby Yukon Golds, trying to keep them all uniform in size. They're cute little guys, look great on the plate and, if left in the oven long enough, are crispy, beautifully browned and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Good EatNZ
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These are so GOOD and SO easy! The first time I made them, I followed the recipe pretty closely, but when I have made them several times since, I have played around with the herbs togo with my main dish. Always excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! Very easy and oh so tasty. Twice baked means you get that little crunch on the top of the potato and as the cook said adjust the seasonings to suit your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cresco, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Was looking for something fast to go with meatloaf. Fantasic! Only used salt & pepper for spices. Boiled potatoes in salted water, and tossed them in oil/vinegar mixture before smashing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Used a bit more olive oil and butter and didn't have any savory, but still a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Will definitely make theses babies again! I changed up the recipe by adding cloves of garlic and onion wedges during the roasting time. I also left out the herbs listed here and just used simple olive oli, sea salt, pepper and rosemary springs from my garden. They came out crispy on the outside and buttery on the inside. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westseattlebodyworks
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Good friends served this recipe with prime steak filets and they were fabulous. These little potatoes were a highlight of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is really a great recipe. I used fresh herbs instead of dried herbs and it came out great. I made it for a German family and they just loved it. A new way to make potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These were quite good. I didn't use as many herbs, but tried to base it on what we would like. This isn't to say the recipe wasn't good as is. But I knew my husband wouldn't care for the thyme and rosemary or so much garlic, so that was the only reason I changed it. I used parsley and some chives with pepper and kosher salt. Really good and a bit different, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States