Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I am so sorry but I just didn't care for these potatoes. I was so looking forward to trying them but when I was eating them I kept picking out pieces of rosemary from my mouth. I must say that I followed the recipe exactly. I did not change anything. If I made them again, I might whizz the herbs in my mini processor and add maybe a little cayenne or cajun/creole seasoning. Thanks so much for posting your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Excellent, with accurate cooking times and temps. Since I was serving this with another side dish that already had herbs I omitted them here, just brushing the smashed potatoes with olive oil and sprinkling them with sea salt and pepper before baking. I used Baby Yukon Golds, trying to keep them all uniform in size. They're cute little guys, look great on the plate and, if left in the oven long enough, are crispy, beautifully browned and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
A Good Recipe. My variation is as follows: After draining and cooling the potatoes a little, I tumble them in bowl with a little butter to coat the skins. Instead of then 'smashing' the potatos, I cut a cross in the upper side of each, to about half-way through. Then, by using a finger and thumb on each hand to genyly squeeze in the lower half, (press between each cut line) the potato opens up, like a flower! This allows the seasoning liquid to flavour the inside of the potato more and, (if you don't ever fill them), crisp the skins nicely. Leftover seasoning can be added just before serving, if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Photo by Good EatNZ
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These are so GOOD and SO easy! The first time I made them, I followed the recipe pretty closely, but when I have made them several times since, I have played around with the herbs togo with my main dish. Always excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was a great way to prepare potatoes differently. Sometimes I get tired of mashed and baked! This recipe was delicious, and thumbs up from hubby and two teenage daughters. I noticed some people had trouble getting the sauce over all the potatoes. I drained the potatoes after boiling, left them in the pot for a bit, then poured a bit of sauce over each potato while in the pot, then gave them a in the pot so they were well coated. I had pork roast in the oven at 325F, so couldn't use the oven, but fried them instead. In they went into the pan, and I smashed them there. I just flipped them a few times, so they cooked evenly. The herb sauce just melded into the potatoes, made them very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These potatoes are soo good. Followed directions exactly except did not have any savory. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TOM
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I fixed these potatoes for dinner tonight and we LOVED them! I did grind the herbs in a small food processor before adding the oil and butter. It worked really well. I doubled the recipe and the six of us (my parents ate with us tonight) finished all three pounds of potatoes. I think they would have eaten more if I'd had them. Both of our kids asked when I was planning to make them again. They can rest assured...it won't be long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Craigsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I used larger yellow potatoes, and it still turned out wonderfully. Crisp on the outside, and soft and fluffy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Will definitely make theses babies again! I changed up the recipe by adding cloves of garlic and onion wedges during the roasting time. I also left out the herbs listed here and just used simple olive oli, sea salt, pepper and rosemary springs from my garden. They came out crispy on the outside and buttery on the inside. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westseattlebodyworks
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Used a bit more olive oil and butter and didn't have any savory, but still a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States