Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Superb. Easy to make and tastes great!! But, I'd cut down the oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Takes awhile to cook but the sauce is great! I didn't have savory so I substituted with parsley and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Very tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
The flavor was good, but they were very dry. We added sour cream to help with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
A Good Recipe. My variation is as follows: After draining and cooling the potatoes a little, I tumble them in bowl with a little butter to coat the skins. Instead of then 'smashing' the potatos, I cut a cross in the upper side of each, to about half-way through. Then, by using a finger and thumb on each hand to genyly squeeze in the lower half, (press between each cut line) the potato opens up, like a flower! This allows the seasoning liquid to flavour the inside of the potato more and, (if you don't ever fill them), crisp the skins nicely. Leftover seasoning can be added just before serving, if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Mmmm good! Easy squeezy. I made this recipe exactly as written, it's now on my rotation of recipes. Family loves the "little reds". Soft on the inside, crispy on the outside. Wonderful melding of spices, oils and potatoes. Thank you Amanda81. GRANDMA SUSIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! It is so easy to make, yet it tastes high-class and will impress your friends and trick them into believing you're a kitchen wizard. Champagne taste on a Boone's Farm budget. I sometimes love to add a little crumbled feta on top of the finished product. Yumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lyttelton, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made these last night with a bag of Trader Joe's Potatoes/Baby Medley (the bag was 28 ounces and included a mix of baby red, yellow and purple potatoes). They were absolutely DELICIOUS! My husband loved them, too and we can't wait to have them again. I cut the potatoes in half, boiled for 20 minutes as directed, and let cool. Then I added them to the olive oil/butter/seasonings mixture in a bowl and tossed to coat well. From there, I placed the potatoes on the cooking sheet, smashed and drizzled any remaining mixture over them. Really yummy! The blend of seasonings is so good! Next time I think I am going to smash them before coating in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My husband and I loved them so much that we made them again 2 days later. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephPage

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE - so easy! Thank you! I drizzled cheese on top - for last 5 minutes of baking, couldn't resist making them a little cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States