Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
These are really tasty, but take quite a bit of work for some potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi M Hoiseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Loved, loved, LOVED it!! Have been looking for a simple and tasty way to serve potatoes yet keeping the calories down. Will definitely be using this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Superb. Easy to make and tastes great!! But, I'd cut down the oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Takes awhile to cook but the sauce is great! I didn't have savory so I substituted with parsley and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Very tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
The flavor was good, but they were very dry. We added sour cream to help with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
A Good Recipe. My variation is as follows: After draining and cooling the potatoes a little, I tumble them in bowl with a little butter to coat the skins. Instead of then 'smashing' the potatos, I cut a cross in the upper side of each, to about half-way through. Then, by using a finger and thumb on each hand to genyly squeeze in the lower half, (press between each cut line) the potato opens up, like a flower! This allows the seasoning liquid to flavour the inside of the potato more and, (if you don't ever fill them), crisp the skins nicely. Leftover seasoning can be added just before serving, if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Mmmm good! Easy squeezy. I made this recipe exactly as written, it's now on my rotation of recipes. Family loves the "little reds". Soft on the inside, crispy on the outside. Wonderful melding of spices, oils and potatoes. Thank you Amanda81. GRANDMA SUSIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! It is so easy to make, yet it tastes high-class and will impress your friends and trick them into believing you're a kitchen wizard. Champagne taste on a Boone's Farm budget. I sometimes love to add a little crumbled feta on top of the finished product. Yumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lyttelton, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made these last night with a bag of Trader Joe's Potatoes/Baby Medley (the bag was 28 ounces and included a mix of baby red, yellow and purple potatoes). They were absolutely DELICIOUS! My husband loved them, too and we can't wait to have them again. I cut the potatoes in half, boiled for 20 minutes as directed, and let cool. Then I added them to the olive oil/butter/seasonings mixture in a bowl and tossed to coat well. From there, I placed the potatoes on the cooking sheet, smashed and drizzled any remaining mixture over them. Really yummy! The blend of seasonings is so good! Next time I think I am going to smash them before coating in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States