Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Nana made this oh so long ago..I wasn't a fan of it much when I was a kid,but my tastes have changed in my seniority.I tweaked it a bit for my taste buds.Added green pepper,left out the mushrooms and added a little chili powder and basil.Also added the parm cheese at the end.I think it tastes mighty good now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I love this recipe! I first heard of it while watching an old movie. I didn't have the mushrooms so I added chopped sweet red peppers and a little cream for richness. Yummy! I am making it again tonight. It is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
my Mother (she would have ben 90 now) and my Grandmother (she would have ben 136 now) fixed this when I was a kid ,no mushrooms,and boy was it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is so easy and comfort food at its best. When I lived in Kansas City it was made layering 1 Cup of shredded cheddar cheese on top to melt before serving. Either way it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tuttle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
A really great recipe for something fast and easy. I made it as prompted (excluding the mushrooms since my boyfriend positively abhors them) and while I had no complaints I would like to try to saute the garlic and onions first, then brown the meat, instead of how its instructed. Both overall a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
My grandfather used to make a version using sliced wieners and a bit of canned corn (no beef or mushrooms). I've been looking for that recipe. Anyone familiar with it?? Also, I always thought the name "slumgullion" was something he made up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nolensville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I found it to pretty pretty tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Full five stars, for simplicity! I love simple recipes. I'm nearly done cooking this now. I had to halve it (the original recipe is just far too much food for the three of us), and I tossed in some chopped bell peppers as well, since my hubby likes them, and this is the sort of recipe that's easy to experiment with. It smells delicious, and there's no way that it won't taste as good as it smells. Note: I just learned that in a pinch (we just moved and don't have all the necessities), you can brown ground beef in a pot. It actually works better than a skillet. Food for thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I gave it 4 stars because I had to tweak a little. Added beef base, worcestershire, parmesan cheese and sugar to cut the acidity taste of the tomatoes. Some basil for seasoning. Only used 1-1/2 c of tomato sauce and 8 oz of macaroni. Very kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I had leftover prego spaghetti sauce so I used it instead of the tomato sauce. Great served sprinkled with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emery, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States