Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I have made this recipe so very many times!! However, instead of tomato sauce, I use tomato SOUP!! I also prefer to use egg noodles instead of the macaroni. Using the soup instead of the sauce gives it a little more depth in the flavor and it seems to come out a bit creamier. I also tend to use either ground turkey or ground chicken when I make this, to cut down on the fat. I also add some extra Italian Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made this without the noodles and poured it over rice. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Macaroni doesn't belong anywhere near slumgullion! Try potatoes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pseudolife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacques Byrd
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Like mom used to make. I substituted bell pepper for mushrooms only because that was the way I remembered it tasting. Great recipe fast cheap and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacques Byrd
Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: La Grange, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Nana made this oh so long ago..I wasn't a fan of it much when I was a kid,but my tastes have changed in my seniority.I tweaked it a bit for my taste buds.Added green pepper,left out the mushrooms and added a little chili powder and basil.Also added the parm cheese at the end.I think it tastes mighty good now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I love this recipe! I first heard of it while watching an old movie. I didn't have the mushrooms so I added chopped sweet red peppers and a little cream for richness. Yummy! I am making it again tonight. It is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
my Mother (she would have ben 90 now) and my Grandmother (she would have ben 136 now) fixed this when I was a kid ,no mushrooms,and boy was it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is so easy and comfort food at its best. When I lived in Kansas City it was made layering 1 Cup of shredded cheddar cheese on top to melt before serving. Either way it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tuttle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
A really great recipe for something fast and easy. I made it as prompted (excluding the mushrooms since my boyfriend positively abhors them) and while I had no complaints I would like to try to saute the garlic and onions first, then brown the meat, instead of how its instructed. Both overall a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
My grandfather used to make a version using sliced wieners and a bit of canned corn (no beef or mushrooms). I've been looking for that recipe. Anyone familiar with it?? Also, I always thought the name "slumgullion" was something he made up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nolensville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States