Slow-Simmered Chicken Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I wish I had read all the reviews first. Instead, I followed the recipe and ended up with a pot of mushy rice that was inedible. I had to throw it out. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dariqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Came out great tasting. I did add more liquid because it was a little thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windlegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Ok base recipe but pretty bland by itself. I added a cumin, garlic powder, and fajita seasonings and sausage and went ahead and had a cajun soup. plus added red bell peppers for color contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roy.danielsII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Tasty soup but the rice gets very mushy. I recommend using only wild rice and adding it late in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mswordweaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My husband and I both thought this soup was really good! I used a blend that was primarily wild rice and brown rice with a few other things mixed in instead of just wild rice and long grain white rice. The flavor from the rice was excellent. The soup was quite thick a few hours into cooking so I added an extra can of broth and only cooked it on low for about 6 hours which was plenty. This will be a great base soup to add extra veggies to as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
this is a delicious, simple recipe. I would add a little more cracked pepper and some salt and pepper for some added zing. It tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was bland, but a good base recipe. Tastier the next day. My rice turned to mush but I did slow cook it for ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Fabulous, mild, feel-good chicken soup! You can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It's a little too thick. Next time I will add more chicken broth to make it more of a soup and less of a casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Made this for a family get together & everyone loved it, even the kids. I didn't have time to slow cook, so I simmered on the stove. I took the advice of previous reviews & waited to throw in the rice until the last hour. Even with that, I still needed to add about 3 additional cups of stock towards the end of cooking as the rice soaks it all up. As a personal preference, I added 3 sliced carrots & 3 cloves of minced garlic. Loved the subtle kick the red pepper flakes added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States