Slow Drunk Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
i liked it ok but loved it after i made some changes. first i left out the oil and water as they were not needed. i poured 1/4 of the beer in a glass oven pan then 1/4 can of chicken broth to follow. then placed the chicken in the pan surrounding it with red potatoes(quartered), baby carrots, and half an onion (sliced), poured the remaining beer and both over it all. then i seasoned the chicken and vegetables with pepper, garlic powder, seasoned salt and zatarans. then i zested the orange on top of the chicken, poked holes in the orange then put it in the opening. i followed the baking instructions and it came out awesome, although the vegetables may need to cook a little longer(remove chicken and cover, cook veggies 15 mins at 450 for electric oven) its a must have at least twice a month in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QueenMacAnnie
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Making it again tomorrow night - my husband loves it and it makes great sandwiches too. IMPORTANT NOTE... I have tried this recipe with different lager's and it makes a BIG difference in the taste. You need to use a lager with "bite" too it - if you can not find Fosters® then the green bottles usually work and are easier to find in the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMacAnnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by heilau
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
We used a session IPA and lots of rosemary and orange zest coating the outside. Some Salt and pepper. Garlic, parsley, and orange inside. For veggies we did blue potatoes, carrots, parsnips, and onion. I think cooking it covered at the lower temp helped keep it from over cooking. It was moist and juicy and even made great leftovers after feeding 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious, I read the other reviews and added a mix of rosemary, sage and thyme. Also used Guinness black lager. It was absolutely wonderful. Even the vegetables were a hit! Made gravy from the drippings - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I love chicken. Never tried a chicken recipe I didn't like, but I "loved" this one. All I added were 2 tsps. of minced fresh rosemary. 1 on the chicken and 1 on the vegi's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bushman

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was amazing. My husband thought it was the best chicken I've ever made. It was really easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This recipe is a good starter. Agreeing with what most reviewers said, it needs lots more seasoning. Personally, it is very rare that I follow a recipe like this to the letter. I view recipes as a guide for the most part. For this I used Shocktop (since it has hints of orange in it) and soaked it for 24 hours. I sprayed the veggies of choice with my WeightWatchers mister and seasoned both meat and veggies w/ - Paprika, Trader Joes Everything Seasoning, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Salt and Pepper. Amounts to your tastes. I then misted the chicken with sprayer and baked as suggested (for the most part). I only roasted 1/2 a chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I liked this recipe, but not much flavor right away. It tasted better the next day. Next time will try adding more spices, but will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CkretsGalore
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Like many others I added fresh herbs (Sage/Rosemary/Thyme) for a bit more flavour. We stuck with the oil as it increases the browning. To stick with an October/Halloween theme we used "Vampire Maple Lager!" It was quite strong to drink but for this chicken it was superb. We will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CkretsGalore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used a lemon instead of an orange and zested it first for coating the outside of the bird. I also used a hefeweizen instead of lager (lemon and hef is a natural combo) I also threw in some sweet potatoes instead of carrots and used boxed chicken stock instead of the bouillon cube. I would recommend a cast iron dutch oven as the cooking vessel if you have it. It works really well for this sort of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States