Slow Cooker White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Really, really good! Instead of using cooked chicken, I put a couple raw chicken breasts in with the broth and lime juice and cooked on low for about 5 hours. I then shredded it and added the rest of the ingredients (added some sliced zucchini) for about 1.5 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rrkalina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I have been looking for vegan recipes, so I decided to try this one, but leaving out the chicken. I also experimented using a can of hominy, instead of corn. I just used regular salsa, as that is all I had on hand. The lemon juice and lime juice really bring out the flavors. I like this a lot, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was a little worried about flavor with the lack of spice ingredients, but it is delicious and amazingly simple. We cooked thighs instead of breasts...deboned, salt/pepper, in a pan with oil and a bit of lemon juice. Other than that...followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This recipe was ok, but really not that great for me. Partly it was just way too salty (which I can't really figure out, since no salt was added, so it must have been the broth or the salsa I guess? I even used frozen corn instead of canned so there was no extra salt there...) Anyway, it just wasn't really what I wanted when I was expecting white chili, and it wasn't fantastic enough to make up for the fact that I was disappointed it wasn't more like regular white chili. I'll eat the leftovers, but probably won't ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This chili is delicious!! Did it exactly as written but I added a 1/2 teaspoon allspice. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yiayia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The key is the lemon and lime juices. Adds just the right touch. Delicious--the whole family liked it very much. I doubled the recipe, which served five with some leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made this soup thinking that it would be good, but not great. Boy was I wrong. This soup was packed with flavor. The green salsa (I used medium) and green chilies really add a lot to the broth and taste of this recipe. The one change I made was to add a half opened can of black beans to the mix, so that I could use them up. My DH & DS added some jalapeño salsa to theirs to kick the heat up to another notch. We all enjoyed this for dinner with a piece of homemade bread and everyone was happy that we had enough for leftovers. I did make this on the stovetop in a stockpot rather than the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is a really good white chili, albeit very different. I really liked the cilantro and lime flavors. Since fresh tomatoes looked terrible, I used a can of diced tomatoes, drained, instead. It's easy, quick, and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe! It was different than most white chilis I have had in the past and I actually liked it better. The use of the green salsa gave it a nice depth of flavor. Make sure when you are buying your green salsa you buy the salsa verde. There is also a green salsa in my store that I buy that is a pureed jalapeno salsa and is really spicy and a little bitter. The salsa verde is slightly spicy and has a nice tang from the tomatillas. I used yellow corn instead of white - but, otherwise made according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Loved it! Making it again today. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States