Slow Cooker Venison Stroganoff Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Fantastic! Superb! And EXTREMELY EASY! My husband kept pestering me about making venison for him. I had less than a half hour to throw everything together before I needed to leave the house. I ran to the freezer, grabbed four sirloin steaks and popped in the micro for one minute to get the wrappings off. I placed the cut meat in a zip lock bag and literally poured in a "ton" of garlic pepper, garlic powder, a no-salt seasoning blend and a bit of sea salt. Browned in olive oil in two batches and into the slow cooker. I ran out of time and nixed the flour in the oil part. I had only one can of cream of mushroom soup and used that and added one can of cream of chicken soup (I know, sounds odd) filled each can half way and scraped the remaining soup into slow cooker. I turned it to high in error and left the house. Returning to the house, I intended to add sour cream in the last 20 minutes of cooking - only to find I almost added cottage cheese! Opened the sour cream this time and as I was pouring off the excess water I dropped the entire container into the sink full of dirty dishes. BOTTOM LINE - I SIMPLY CANNOT BELIEVE HOW EASY AND HOW FANTASTIC THIS TASTED. NOT A DROP LEFT AND I DIDN'T EVEN FOLLOW THE RECIPE. Another reviewer said their son wanted the same dinner the next night. I can certainly see why. With next year's deer, I will give this recipe along with some of my family's "extra" venison. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Holy pepper! Next time I make this I will scale back a bit on the pepper. I would also add some additional mushrooms, and maybe even some onion. Would also work with ground venision. Overall a good base to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Great recipe: Very easy and very tasty! Works great with cubesteaks as well as stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is a pretty good stroganoff meal. I had a little more than a pound of meat so I added a little bit more water, and mixed it all together. I also added about half a cup of sour cream, which really added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
No "Game" taste! It was great. I always add sour cream on mine when serving....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Made this for co-workers and was a hit I did add carrots, a few small baby potatoes and 2 whole onions. Eat with italian bread and you have a great feast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was certainly very easy and tasty. I would agree with one other reviewer that the pepper was a little too much, I'd use 1/2 tsp. the next time. I also added about 1/2 cup of sour cream and dumped it in the skillet with the water and cream of mushroom soup and let it warm up before pouring it over the browned venison in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I love this recipe! I usually add fresh mushrooms and sour cream near the end of cooking time. Perfect over the top of the frozen Grandma Noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Perfect weeknight family fare. My very picky 4 yr old loved it, asked me to make it every night! Major success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Added sour cream near the end, can't have stroganoff without it! Loved this recipe, definitely a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States