Slow Cooker Venison Stroganoff Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is a great easy recipe! My husband who loves to hunt and eat deer, is very happy every time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Murdock, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Fantastic! Superb! And EXTREMELY EASY! My husband kept pestering me about making venison for him. I had less than a half hour to throw everything together before I needed to leave the house. I ran to the freezer, grabbed four sirloin steaks and popped in the micro for one minute to get the wrappings off. I placed the cut meat in a zip lock bag and literally poured in a "ton" of garlic pepper, garlic powder, a no-salt seasoning blend and a bit of sea salt. Browned in olive oil in two batches and into the slow cooker. I ran out of time and nixed the flour in the oil part. I had only one can of cream of mushroom soup and used that and added one can of cream of chicken soup (I know, sounds odd) filled each can half way and scraped the remaining soup into slow cooker. I turned it to high in error and left the house. Returning to the house, I intended to add sour cream in the last 20 minutes of cooking - only to find I almost added cottage cheese! Opened the sour cream this time and as I was pouring off the excess water I dropped the entire container into the sink full of dirty dishes. BOTTOM LINE - I SIMPLY CANNOT BELIEVE HOW EASY AND HOW FANTASTIC THIS TASTED. NOT A DROP LEFT AND I DIDN'T EVEN FOLLOW THE RECIPE. Another reviewer said their son wanted the same dinner the next night. I can certainly see why. With next year's deer, I will give this recipe along with some of my family's "extra" venison. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I love this recipe! I usually add fresh mushrooms and sour cream near the end of cooking time. Perfect over the top of the frozen Grandma Noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This turned out really good and I am glad that I found this recipe on here. I added an extra can of soup and next time i think I will add some meat tenderizer as my meat was a little tough but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This is fabulous!! The only changes I made were adding 1/2 cup of sour cream and a few mushrooms. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Delicious! Everyone loved it...they are enjoying the recipes I am finding on allrecipes.com! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Made this for co-workers and was a hit I did add carrots, a few small baby potatoes and 2 whole onions. Eat with italian bread and you have a great feast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is an outstanding and amazingly easy recipe. My husband has already shared it with all his hunting friends and I have no doubt they will be fixing it this season. Thanks, Kristie, for such a wonderful venison dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was certainly very easy and tasty. I would agree with one other reviewer that the pepper was a little too much, I'd use 1/2 tsp. the next time. I also added about 1/2 cup of sour cream and dumped it in the skillet with the water and cream of mushroom soup and let it warm up before pouring it over the browned venison in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
We are new to cooking with venison and have been looking for ways to use the minute steaks. This worked VERY well. It was easy and wonderful. Made it last week and am doing it again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bowen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States