Slow Cooker Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made this with neck of springbok so unfortunately there were a lot of little bones. However the flavour was good and the meat very tender. I think I will add potatoes next time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirls2014

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've done this recipe before an loved it, this round I added rosemary and it was fabulous. As a side note to you wild game lovers who hate the gamey flavor. Soak your venison in water with a table spoon of white vinegar it will help eliminate the gamey flavor. You can do this for almost any cut of venison. I never have games flavors with my dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Cooked it with elk that a friend was wanting to get rid of and it was awesome. I added a potato, but not sure it needed it. I did not have any parsley so used some cilantro, but the followed the rest exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I modified it some (more tomato sauce, potatoes, mushrooms, bay leaf, corn, peas, green beans, garlic). My venison was as lean as they come and it was not dry. How can meat be dry and tough when it soaks in juice for 6 hours+? The meat didn't taste gamely. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palominopopeye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Finally have a venison stew recipe that I loved, did add Worcestershire and was great also used Red Potatoes. YUmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My husband wanted to make sure I saved this recipe. I think he gave it 10 stars!!! Just a few changes...used about 12 oz tomato sauce and one cup low sodium chicken broth instead of the wine and water. ( I didn't have beef broth or I probably would have used that) IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was not very good. I followed the recipe because I had never cooked venison but this was awful. For one thing, the only vegetable with substance was celery. I would recommend adding potatoes and carrots as the stew was not hearty at all. I cooked it on low for 8 hours but the meat practically dissolved. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Was okay I didn't feel like it was specia,l tasted just like a regular beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeyet06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Really good way to do venison. I kill and butcher my own deer, this is one of the few ways I have found to make venison really taste good without the gamey flavor. Add mushrooms and french onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great! I added ketchup, worshtershire sauce, a few garlic cloves,potatoes, carrots and a couple bay leaves. It did not taste gamey at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States