Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Awesome Recipe! Modified cooking time to 8 hrs. Added old bay seasoning. Coked perfectly and taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Very good, thank you! Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made this recipe tonight for dinner. I found it to be very tasty, but extremely salty! I did not have venison roast, so I used two venison steaks and they came out so tender that we did not need knives to cut them. This recipe was enjoyable, but like I said before, salty. It was very flavorful, but the ingredients (like the soy sauce and worcestershire sauce) are salty on their own, as was the onion soup mix. I believe cutting the garlic salt in half would probably be a good idea for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Pretty good- the venison tasted exactly like beef and had no gamey flavor whatsoever. Definitely use garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and low sodium soup. I did not add any potatoes and didn't think it was salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I added Potatoes and carrots this was an awesome recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
use roasted garlic mushroom soup , garlic clove , half red onion and two cups of white wine add the rest of the recipe , I slow cooked 12 hours on low , served with mash taters and fresh broccoli and biscuits . family woudnt eat deer before now the pot is empty and asking for more . was off the hook good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Added the potatoes and red wine as suggested,, I don't care for a lot of salt either,, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I have made this recipe a couple times for parties at our house, and people love it. This past time, I added 1 can of whole berry cranberry sauce to the recipe. I stirred it with the soups. It gave the recipe a "french" flavor---as if I had added a bunch of reduced red, fruity wine. Excellent. I made no other changes, other than to brown two smallish roasts first. I did cut the roasts into very large chunks to allow them to fit into the crock pot with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larkin Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
this is actually the same recipe i used for my beef pot roast. It is fantastic and the juice from it makes an amazing gravy for potatoes after it is done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Unless you LOVE a TON of salt- I strongly recommend NOT following this recipe to a T. Judging by other reviews adding some potatoes and substituting the garlic salt for garlic powder may have saved it. Aside from being too salty this really is a good recipe- I just think this site needs to modify it a bit like so many others who have made this dish have. The meat turns out great and the flavor is there but just masked with SO MUCH salt. I will make this again but only with the modifications I stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States