Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Living with two avid hunters I always have plenty of venison in the freezer. I personally, do not care much for it, unless however it is cooked in a manner that I do not know what it is! I am not alone in this feeling. My children take my side. Venison tends to taste "wild" if you do not have a great recipe. This is a GREAT recipe! We did not tell the kids what it was until after they all had thirds!! They were shocked as was I. This was a very tasty and easy. We will make this many time in the future. Thanks so much! Now maybe I can clean out the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
577 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Delicious! I used a TBLS of minced garlic instead of garlic salt, added 1 1/2c of water, and cubed a couple potatoes, 2 carrots, and 2 celery stalks. For those that said this was too salty - use real garlic instead of the salt (or garlic powder) add a little water, and perhaps using low sodium soy sauce/cream of mushrooms soup would help a bunch as well. Turned out great for us and w/ my changes, we didn't find it salty! Good luck & happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Because of the previous reviews that I read on this recipe. I added 3 potatoes and 1/2 cup of red wine to lower the salt. It tasted just like beef bourgignon!! If you don't like wine I would suggest to add the potatoes as they will absorb the salt. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was an excellent dish! I used a vension round roast. I combined a can of beef broth and about a cup of red wine. There was alot of liquid so I will cut down on the broth and wine next time. It did make wonderful gravy..I used 4 cloves of minced garlic, no extra salt, potatoes carrots and onion and alot of cracked black pepper. The roast was very tender and the dish was amazingly delicious! My husband and I agreed it was the best venison we have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This was amazing. Of course like others I made a couple small changes. I used 2 venison steaks and 2 tenderloins I had lying around. But I think this would work on any cut of meat. (Next weekend I am trying it with goose!) I boiled 1 cup of elbow macaroni in water w/ some beef bullion. I then added it to the crock-pot about 20 minutes before serving. In the future I will not use the garlic SALT and maybe throw in a cup of sour cream at the end. **** My trick to get the GAME out of Gamey meats. I soak the meat overnight in a FoodSaver vacuum sealed container with Milk! Work every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Awesome - and it smelled so good when I walked in the door! I agree, I could barely tell it was venison. Even my son - who does not want anything to do with mushrooms loved it! I made french fries to go with the gravy and he poured the gravy all over his fries and venison! I will definitely make this again. One change I would make - I would use reduced sodium soup and garlic powder instead of salt. The onion soup mix has enough salt in it and I don't feel you need to add more. I did use liquid aminos since I was out of soy sauce, but there isn't much difference in taste there anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I followed this recipe,that was a mistake.Is it salty,wow!!.I should've read the reviews before making this.I agree with adding water with the soup ,I would also cut the onion soup mix in half at best.It could be a very good recipe,just make some changes to suit your taste.That is unless your able to take the top off a salt shaker and down the thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was the best recipe I've found for venison roast. Having read the reviews, I used garlic powder rather than garlic salt and added a soup can of water. I also used homemade onion soup mix. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch and water--wonderful gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I made this with an elk roast, and it was wonderful! I browned the roast in oil and butter in the pan first, deglazed the pan with some red wine, and added that nice sauce to the crock pot as well. I also added some rosemary. I love how the soup makes its own gravy! This was super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Made this modified version for the first time and it was fantastic! Will be my standard Venison Roast recipe now. This is the entire recipe with modifications added: 2-3 pounds boneless venison roast 1 large onion, sliced 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce 1 tbsp. garlic powder 1 tsp. ground black pepper 1 tsp. Mrs. Dash seasoning 1 (1 ounce) package dry onion soup mix with 2 cups of water (mix calls for 4) 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of muchroom soup 4 carrots, sliced 3 medium potatoes, cubed 1. Put cleaned meat in slow cooker and cover with onion, Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder and pepper. 2. Slice carrots and cube potatoes. Add to cooker. 3. In a small bowl combine the soup mix and the soup; mix together and pour mixture over venison. Cook on Low setting for 6 hours. 4. Remove potatoes and mash with fork on plate. Add carrots to plate. Cut 1/2" thick pieces of venison and add to plate. Add gravy to venison and potatoes to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States