Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
The dry onion soup mix, along with the sliced onion was a little to strong. I will use this recipe again, but will sub minced onion for the soup mix. The meat turned out very tender, and not dry, which is a plus for venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
This was a tasty and easy way to cook venison. I cooked the roast in the slow cooker on high for 3 hours and finished it in the oven for 1 hour. The gravy that the soup mixes made was very salty. I'll be making this again for sure...but, next time I'll add water to the dry soup mix to cut down on the saltiness and I'll be sure not to add any additional salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This is the 3rd and the best slow cooker recipe I've tried with venison roast. The soup and sliced onion ends up as a tasty gravy that I serve with baked or mashed potatoes. Good enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
My husband is always skeptical about me trying new recipes. But when he tried this, he said "this is definitely a keeper." That says a lot coming from him. I did add a step before the crockpot though. Since deermeat is sometimes dry, I decided to sear it in bacon fat before cooking. I don't know if that's what made the difference but the meat was very moist and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This was very tasty. My husband and I both really liked it...best with mashed potatoes. I added water and an extra can of soup because I used more than 3 lbs. of meat. Definately do not add salt to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Because of the previous reviews that I read on this recipe. I added 3 potatoes and 1/2 cup of red wine to lower the salt. It tasted just like beef bourgignon!! If you don't like wine I would suggest to add the potatoes as they will absorb the salt. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
While I'm not a venison fan, I made this for my husband and it smelled GREAT! I did try one bite of the meat and did not think it was too salty; it has a good flavor to it. I served it with steamed carrots over egg noodles. The only change make from the recipe was that I added one soup-can of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I followed this recipe,that was a mistake.Is it salty,wow!!.I should've read the reviews before making this.I agree with adding water with the soup ,I would also cut the onion soup mix in half at best.It could be a very good recipe,just make some changes to suit your taste.That is unless your able to take the top off a salt shaker and down the thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was the best recipe I've found for venison roast. Having read the reviews, I used garlic powder rather than garlic salt and added a soup can of water. I also used homemade onion soup mix. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch and water--wonderful gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
This recipe was awesome. I started it in the morning and then spent the afternoon on the boat. The house smelled great when we got back home! We'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States