Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I am an avid hunter and LOVE to cook my venison roasts this way. Every time I make it there is hardly any leftovers. I throw in a couple potatoes and carrots with it, and use minced garlic rather than garlic salt...absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I found a great way to use the left over's of this recipe. Shred up the meat, put on tortila shell, cover generously with sause and Mexican Cheese. Microwave on high for 25 secs. Add lettuce tomato and whatever else you may enjoy in a burito. Wrap and enjoy! The Mexican Cheese really compliments the flavors of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
OMG!!! Super tender and flavorful!! I accidentally put tablespoons instead of teaspoons of the soy and worcestershire, but it was still fantastic! My fiancee doesn't care for roast at all, but he LOVED this one. I also couldn't start my 2.5 lb roast 6 hours early, so I cooked mine on high for 4 hours, but it was still awesome!! This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of venison but this is a great recipe. Serve over egg noodles for a nice stroganoff type dish. Really quite good and very easy. Be sure to check the temp frequently so it doesn't over cook. We also soaked the venison in water with 1T salt and a little vinegar overnight to take away some of the game flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Someone gave us some venison and after reading other reviews on this recipe, I thought I'd give it a try. The roast turned out great and didn't taste "gamey". The only things I added were a cup of beef broth and some carrots and potatoes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajrichards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Darlington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Excellent recipe, although I took the advice of other reviewers and substituted minced garlic for the garlic salt, I added chopped celery, carrots, and potatoes, and I added 1 cup red wine and 1/2 cup water. Next time I will probably add a whole cup water instead of 1/2, because it was borderline salty for my taste. Also will omit the soy sauce to bring down the saltiness. Overall very good, since I have never eaten more than a bite of venison with other recipes, this time I had a full plate! The meat was extremely tender, it just fell apart when you grabbed it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Good flavor with minimal game taste but a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
So easy to make. Marinated in milk overnight. Added 10 cloves of garlic and a cup of red wine to the slow cooker. Wife and kids went nuts for this. They are not big venison fans and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
My family raved over this recipe! My kids loved it and my in-laws demanded the recipe. I made hebed & buttered red potatoes to go with it and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States