Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
use roasted garlic mushroom soup , garlic clove , half red onion and two cups of white wine add the rest of the recipe , I slow cooked 12 hours on low , served with mash taters and fresh broccoli and biscuits . family woudnt eat deer before now the pot is empty and asking for more . was off the hook good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Added the potatoes and red wine as suggested,, I don't care for a lot of salt either,, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I have made this recipe a couple times for parties at our house, and people love it. This past time, I added 1 can of whole berry cranberry sauce to the recipe. I stirred it with the soups. It gave the recipe a "french" flavor---as if I had added a bunch of reduced red, fruity wine. Excellent. I made no other changes, other than to brown two smallish roasts first. I did cut the roasts into very large chunks to allow them to fit into the crock pot with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larkin Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
this is actually the same recipe i used for my beef pot roast. It is fantastic and the juice from it makes an amazing gravy for potatoes after it is done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Unless you LOVE a TON of salt- I strongly recommend NOT following this recipe to a T. Judging by other reviews adding some potatoes and substituting the garlic salt for garlic powder may have saved it. Aside from being too salty this really is a good recipe- I just think this site needs to modify it a bit like so many others who have made this dish have. The meat turns out great and the flavor is there but just masked with SO MUCH salt. I will make this again but only with the modifications I stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wonderful! Next time we will add some sliced mushrooms to add more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Absolutely loved it! I did add beef broth, thick sliced mushroom, and potatoes to it. I seasoned the vension before I put it in the slow cooker and I didn't and the dry onion soup mix I was worried it would be to salty. I made biscuits to go with it. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I was hoping it wouldnt taste gamey, and it didnt! I used granulated garlic instead of the garlic salt, 1/2pkg of onion soup mix mixed with 1/2C red wine and the cream of mushroom soup and the rest of ingredients. I like to add sprinkle of herbs de province before the layer of onion. It is fabulous! Stir in 1/2 C sour cream to the gravy before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I used 2 cans of mushroom soup instead of one and a thing of "beef onion soup mix" instead of regular. This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I am new to cooking wild game and I really enjoyed this recipe! Didn't taste wild at all. I used deer steaks instead and I thought it was a little too salty. Next time I will add garlic power instead of garlic salt. It was still good though, delicious served over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States