Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Yummy! This was so good! The venison was crazy tender and the gravy broth just delicious! I doubled the gravy broth ingredients and therefore used a tablespoon of garlic salt and a tablespoon of garlic powder as others said the garlic salt could be too strong. I added potatoes and carrots which were fantastic. I also added mushrooms the last hour of cooking also yummy. I cooked mine on high for 5 hours and low for one more hour. Again the meat was super tender, not gamey at all and not at all salty. Beer bread made an excellent pairing to sop up the excess gravy. I'm definitely making this again!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe is delicious. I do advise to add water or use low sodium ingredients. My husband is also an avid hunter and he said that this was the best venison(deer) roast he has ever had!! Happy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
We eat a lot of venison at our house so when my husband said that this was the best roast he had ever had that ment something! I did not have the onion soup mix and it was great with out it. It made a very tasty gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Very good. No gammey taste to the meat, The only change I did was used Garlic powder instead of Garlic salt (because of the salty comments) and with this change we had no issues with it being too salty. Served the roast over Mashed potatoes covered in the gravy and it was a very good dinner. Meat was tender and delicious, will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have never enjoyed the taste of wild game because of the ... well, the wild game taste. But my husband is an avid hunter so what's a girl to do? This recipe is excellent! I've made it twice now, once just for us to try it out & the 2nd time for company. One of my guests said it was the best dish I had ever made. I followed the recipe as written the 1st time except that I floured & browned the meat on all sides in bacon fat. Ii deglazed the pan with a sweet red wine & added that to the other ingredients. I also browned onion & minced garlic in the bacon fat before deglazing. Also added baby carrots & potatoes. I don't remember how long I cooked this in the slow cooked but I think it was for at least 8 hrs because we were out of the house. It was so good that my husband & I could not stop eating! It was a bit salty so next time I think I'll use garlic powder rather than garlic salt. The 2nd time, I just plain forgot to add the Worcestershire & soy sauces. I did use garlic powder instead of salt & I was glad I did. This is the dish I served to company, I added a packet of Swanson's beef flavor boost. I doubled the recipe because I wanted to freeze some & give some to my brother. I was able to give some to my brother - barely! But our guests devoured this! I have a freezer full of venison roast so I will be making this again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Awesome Recipe! Modified cooking time to 8 hrs. Added old bay seasoning. Coked perfectly and taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Very good, thank you! Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made this recipe tonight for dinner. I found it to be very tasty, but extremely salty! I did not have venison roast, so I used two venison steaks and they came out so tender that we did not need knives to cut them. This recipe was enjoyable, but like I said before, salty. It was very flavorful, but the ingredients (like the soy sauce and worcestershire sauce) are salty on their own, as was the onion soup mix. I believe cutting the garlic salt in half would probably be a good idea for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Pretty good- the venison tasted exactly like beef and had no gamey flavor whatsoever. Definitely use garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and low sodium soup. I did not add any potatoes and didn't think it was salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I added Potatoes and carrots this was an awesome recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States