Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I was hoping it wouldnt taste gamey, and it didnt! I used granulated garlic instead of the garlic salt, 1/2pkg of onion soup mix mixed with 1/2C red wine and the cream of mushroom soup and the rest of ingredients. I like to add sprinkle of herbs de province before the layer of onion. It is fabulous! Stir in 1/2 C sour cream to the gravy before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I used 2 cans of mushroom soup instead of one and a thing of "beef onion soup mix" instead of regular. This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I am new to cooking wild game and I really enjoyed this recipe! Didn't taste wild at all. I used deer steaks instead and I thought it was a little too salty. Next time I will add garlic power instead of garlic salt. It was still good though, delicious served over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I may have written a review for this in the past, but I want to post again. I've made this 4 or 5 times over the last year or 2. Here is how I make it: 3 pounds of venison, and I usually use the tough cuts, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, half a cup of red cooking wine, a couple T. of Worcestershire sauce, carrots, potatoes with the skins on and mushrooms. I add a little bit of water for the bottom. After 6 or 7 hours on low, this comes out so delicious and the meat is so tender, it falls apart. The soup makes such an awesome gravy. So many people mentioned that the dry onion soup mix made it too salty. I say leave it out and everyone adds salt to taste after they've dished it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
My 6 year old got his first deer last winter. We had it made into roasts and steaks and jerky and whatnot. He said he would not eat it at all. So I found this recipe and decided to try it. I did not tell him what the meat was. He ate so much of it there was barely enough for anyone else. He Loved it as did the rest of the family. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I'm not a venison lover but inherited several tenderloins. I have to say, this was better than any pork roast, beef roast, you name it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I used 2 cloves fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I also added 1/4 teaspoon basil and 1/4 teaspoon oregano. Instead of using mushroom soup, I had to get by with 2 cups of water. Definitely not as rich, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very tender and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I did not have garlic salt so I added minced garlic instead. Everyone loved it!!! There was a lot of gravy at the end. Next time I would most likely add potatoes and carrots to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States