Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
After reading the review I used garlic powder and added one potato and it was still too salty. I made this with Elk but that should not have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Very good, but a little too salty. Next time I make it I will substitute some garlic cloves for the garlic salt. Served over egg noodles as recommended, and my husband really enjoyed it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Jones
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I thought this was great- my venison roasts always seem to be too dry- but this one wasn't. I did add potatoes and carrots and thought the juice was gravy enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Great recipe! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Absolutely delicious meal! This was my first slow cooker meal, cooked in my boyfriend's 6 qt. slow cook. I cooked two 2 lb venison roasts. Followed the recipe with a few alterations: used 2 cloves of garlic instead of garlic salt and added 2 cups of water. In retrospect, would have tasted great with only 1 cup added water. I also tossed in carrots. Ended up cooking on high for about 8 hours. The meat was more than done and wonderfully tender. No knives required! Plan to make this meal over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
First time cooking venison and this recipe was easy. I did not use garlic salt, used fresh garlic instead and Campbell's Healthy Request soup. I also added potatoes, carrots, celery, and canned but drained mushrooms to the recipe. I still think it was too salty. The gravy was delicious and the meat was tender but too much salt for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I was really disappointed with this recipe - after reading all the rave reviews I was excited to try this out on my 'hunter' husband. We cook with venison and elk quite a bit. It was easy to prepare, but after cooking so long - I think it ruined a perfectly good cut of meat. The sauce was not that great either. We both love venison and elk - might be a good use for stew meat - but not a good roast (unless you are trying to completely mask the flavor of the meat?). sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was AWESOME! I made it for my mom, Dad, children (3 under 5), husband and sister-in-law, and they all thought it was the best roast they ever had. The next day for dinner, I shredded the meat and poured gravy over rice as someone had suggested, and that alone was just amazing! I did add a cup 1/2 of water AND low sodium soy sauce. I also used 1 tsp garlic powder instead of garlic salt. Then, I doubled the recipe to make enough for all 8 of us with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Didn't change a thing. Used the gravy over mashed potatoes and everyone loved it. Even the picky eater. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I give this 5 stars because of the ease of preparation along with a very good taste. I like to add potatoes around the roast, topped with baby carrots and then covered with sliced onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dukslayr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States