Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Very good! The meat was nice and juicy. My only complaint was how salty it was. It really wasn't that bad, but it was pushing too much. I did follow the suggestions of other cooks' comments, and added one can of water. I also added a bit of flour to thicken up the gravy, which solved that problem. I also added mushrooms and carrots, which I thought, really completed the meal. Overall, this was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is a delicious way to cook a venison roast, but there has to be a way to make it more moist. I just can't figure it out. It's such a lean meat, it always feels dry to me. I don't blame that on the recipe so much as the animal. I can't wait to try this with a beef roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe...followed some others' suggestions to reduce the saltiness and it helped, the end product was great. I did make a few changes...used Beefy Mushroom condensed soup in place of the Onion soup mix (we don't care for it) so there was much more sauce than there should have been. Used a little cornstarch/cold water to thicken it up, added a little sour cream and served it with the venison over egg noodles as a stroganoff. Will definitely save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I first made this for a venison roast I had. I did not care for the venison, but loved this recipe! I have since used it many times for pork roast with some very slight changes. Used low sodium cr. of mushroom soup and soy sauce. I sprinkle black pepper and crushed rosemary on the meat, brown it, deglaze the pan with a little red wine, then pour all that in too. The gravy is a good consistency. Normally slow cooker meals make very watery gravy. This is a great recipe and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Good enough. Nice sauce (maybe try w/beef) as venison still tasted a tiny bit gamey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Very nice recipe, I marinate the roast in one cup white vinegar and enough water to cover plus one tbs salt overnite. This will remove the gamey taste unless thats what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was an excellent dish! I used a vension round roast. I combined a can of beef broth and about a cup of red wine. There was alot of liquid so I will cut down on the broth and wine next time. It did make wonderful gravy..I used 4 cloves of minced garlic, no extra salt, potatoes carrots and onion and alot of cracked black pepper. The roast was very tender and the dish was amazingly delicious! My husband and I agreed it was the best venison we have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is an Awsome Recipe. I've been looking for new ways to cook venison. This one is great! I did add 1cup water and changed the garlic salt to garlic powder plus used low sodium soy sauce.I had to cook it a little longer to, but that was just cause my roast was still a little frozen in the middle. My family Loved this recipe! Even my very picky husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This recipe was very good. This was only the second time I fixed venison and it was easy. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Love this recipe! I use cut venison steaks for this a lot. 2 cans of mushroom soup. Also, I add a bag of baby carrots, small red potatoes, no garlic salt. Delicious! 5+ stars! Hubby loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States