Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
The only thing I did different is 1) I used 3lbs of vennison tenderloin and 2) I added about 2 tablespoons of minced fresh garlic. You couldn't even tell it was venison, it tasted more like a beef roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
My favorite way to use all the deer roasts in my freezer. No game taste, great on potato or rice or in sandwiches. We make this least every 2 weeks during hunting season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This recipe was simply amazing! I did everything the recipe said and it turned out very tasteful! I did have a 2 pound venison roast and 1 pound of steaks...that was the only thing different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 8675309

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
OMG! Yes if you must have deer for dinner this is the recipe. It was really good. The only thing different that I did, was I added fresh mushrooms in with it and when it was done I put some sour cream and mixed it in. (also have some on the table if you want more sour cream) and then I put it over egg noodles! Very yummy, and I forgot that I was eating "Bambi". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I made this for us two tonight and I knew that going into it that it would be a bit salty as soy sauce is salty; but adding garlic salt put it over the top. We do love salty though. Next time I will use garlic powder instead. I also will double the cream of mushroom soup and lipton onion soup mix. Add cubed new red skin potatoes, carrots, green beans and mushrooms! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I would actually give this 4 1/2 stars as is. Then I followed the directions of a few other reviewers and added some changes of my own and the meal became a 5. I used one can of mushroom and one can of cream of celery soup. I did not add the onion soup mix (way too much salt). In place of the garlic salt, I added three cloves of garlic. I soaked the meat over night in milk. I added a splash of red wine and one cube of beef bouillon. Finally, I added potatoes, carrots and mushrooms to the sauce. I let it cook on low for 8 hours or more and the meat was tender and juicy. I will make this over and over and try it with beef too. I love finding a great slow cooker recipe. They are so easy, and when supper time comes the only work that needs to be done is setting the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Very good! Mine did not turn out dry at all. I stuck it in a small roaster pan and stuck in the oven at 350 for 1.5 hours. Then took meat out and made the sauce into a thick gravy on the stove with cornstarch. Add homemade rolls and potatoes...YUMMY!!! Very good the next day on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serving_Him

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
mine turned out dry and too overly seasoned. We couldn't taste the meat just the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used a dry veggie soup mix. My husband loves venison but never would eat a venison roast (to dry). He loved it and was better as leftovers. Thank you for this recipe - we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Lets start off by saying, I don't care for venison at all. With two hunters in the house, we have a freezer full... so I need to use it. This recipe was AWESOME! did not taste like venison at all! I added a can of water and used minced garlic. Thanks! will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States