Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I used two venison roasts that weighed just over 1.5 lbs. each. There was not a bit of fat on these roasts so they were a little dry. I followed the recipe, except I cut down the dry onion soup to half the package (per other reviewers suggestions). The end result was delish. And the gravy was outstanding. I have more venison roasts to cook in the future and this recipe will be the go to prep. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This venison recipe is great! I did make a few changes based on our personal tastes and a lower sodium diet. I used 1 T. less sodium soy sauce, 1 T. Worchestershire, 1 T. granulated garlic, 1 t. fresh black pepper, 2 packages Lipton onion soup mix and 2 cans less sodium cream of mushroom soup. I also add 2 onions, sliced, 4 carrots, sliced and 4 red potatoes, cubed. Cook on low crockpot 8 hours. We ate this for dinner with crusty bread for 3 nights! Makes a lot, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This one is great to fool the Mother in Law who thinks all game is distasteful. I lined the cooker first with a tablespoon of olive oil, seared the venison roast on the grill (cleaned and patted dry - added kosher salt, pepper & onion powder prior to searing 3 min each side). Placed in cooker, dashed some worcestershire over the roast, added sliced red apple (cored) around roast with 8 garlic cloves (not minced). Half a can of sodium free beef broth with half a sliced white onion and wa la! Remove the apples and roast - make a gravy with the juices. Optional - add carrorts and potatoes an hour before eating. I've done it with cabbage to and it's wonderful. Experiment and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
The only thing I did different is 1) I used 3lbs of vennison tenderloin and 2) I added about 2 tablespoons of minced fresh garlic. You couldn't even tell it was venison, it tasted more like a beef roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
My favorite way to use all the deer roasts in my freezer. No game taste, great on potato or rice or in sandwiches. We make this least every 2 weeks during hunting season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This recipe was simply amazing! I did everything the recipe said and it turned out very tasteful! I did have a 2 pound venison roast and 1 pound of steaks...that was the only thing different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 8675309

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
OMG! Yes if you must have deer for dinner this is the recipe. It was really good. The only thing different that I did, was I added fresh mushrooms in with it and when it was done I put some sour cream and mixed it in. (also have some on the table if you want more sour cream) and then I put it over egg noodles! Very yummy, and I forgot that I was eating "Bambi". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I made this for us two tonight and I knew that going into it that it would be a bit salty as soy sauce is salty; but adding garlic salt put it over the top. We do love salty though. Next time I will use garlic powder instead. I also will double the cream of mushroom soup and lipton onion soup mix. Add cubed new red skin potatoes, carrots, green beans and mushrooms! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I would actually give this 4 1/2 stars as is. Then I followed the directions of a few other reviewers and added some changes of my own and the meal became a 5. I used one can of mushroom and one can of cream of celery soup. I did not add the onion soup mix (way too much salt). In place of the garlic salt, I added three cloves of garlic. I soaked the meat over night in milk. I added a splash of red wine and one cube of beef bouillon. Finally, I added potatoes, carrots and mushrooms to the sauce. I let it cook on low for 8 hours or more and the meat was tender and juicy. I will make this over and over and try it with beef too. I love finding a great slow cooker recipe. They are so easy, and when supper time comes the only work that needs to be done is setting the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Very good! Mine did not turn out dry at all. I stuck it in a small roaster pan and stuck in the oven at 350 for 1.5 hours. Then took meat out and made the sauce into a thick gravy on the stove with cornstarch. Add homemade rolls and potatoes...YUMMY!!! Very good the next day on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serving_Him

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States