Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I used golden mushroom soup instead of cream of mushroom. Roast was excellent. It still tasted like venison to me but was very moist and tender. We really enjoyed this meal and will make it again. I am giving four stars because it did not seem to have enough liquid for the crockpot. So, I added the roast and then enough water so it was at least half full and would not dry out during cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is a great starter recipe. Taking others' suggestions, I added a cup of red wine and a cup of beef broth. I didn't think it came out w/ too much liquid -- there was enough to make plenty of gravy. I also added about 5 red potatoes, a handful of baby carrots, an onion, and some whole mushrooms. Delicious meal for the week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I'm not a hunter so I do not know about cooking wild things. I looked at this recipe, thought it would be good, might be heavy on the onion with the soup and the slices of onion. This was great! But heavy on the onion!. I would leave out the sliced onion, maybe use veggies or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodiology

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Wonderful!! Who knew elk could taste this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was delicious. I laid the roast on the sliced onion, then mixed the other ingredients together and poured over top. I used two cloves of fresh garlic (grated) instead of the garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
The only substitution that I made was golden cream of mushroom soup vs. regular. My mother can't stand the thought of eating venision and loved it and got seconds. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was so good! I'm just sad my freezer is out of venison. I didn't use garlic salt but instead replaced it with 4 cloves of chopped garlic. I served it with mashed potatos and green beans. The gravy was amazing with the potatos. I'll definately pass this on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
only thing i changed was the cream of mushroom to roasted garlic cream of mushroom. the best venison roast i ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I made this and loved it! only tip I have is use less of the soup mix. Yum and I also threw in a couple pototoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmetz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a very good recipe. Still tasted a bit like vension, but very good. I added a little red cooking wine also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icooknaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States