Slow Cooker Venison Chili for the Big Game Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Viki1030
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Yaaay...big hit. The tomato paste was way to sweet...perhaps add less than the whole 6oz. We wanted it spicy so I added cayenne pepper to get the heat we wanted...only thing not shown in picture is the beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I had to use a can of tomato sauce instead of paste and it turned out great. I served it over baked potatoes and the kids asked for seconds!! Super easy and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Easy and yummy!! I did sub the tomato paste for tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Amazing recipe, added green and red pepper, and used Beer brats uncased and chopped for the pork. Best chili I have made. Recommend highly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
this was delicious!!! only change I made was I added 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of what was written in recipe. Next time, I may also add potatoes to it as well as carrots or other types of vegies but I will definitely make this again!! thank you ALLRECIPES, I love your site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was good, but not quite sure what it needed. The only changes I made were 2 cans of beans and I added 1 small of can of tomato sauce and a mostly drained can of tomatoes. I also only had 1/2 lb of sausage and ground venison. Unlike most reviewers, I didn't think it was too tomatoey. I did think it was a bit too thick, even with the added liquid. It just seemed something was missing. I have quite a bit of ground venison, so I'll be making it again and I think maybe I'll put some bell pepper, and maybe something more bbq?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Made it today and the house smells wonderful and it tastes fantastic. Now, if I can keep my hands off of it till dinner time I will be doing great. Thanx for the recipe. I will be sure to make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this with 1 lb. ground venison otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as is. I think next time I would omit the tomato paste and use tomato sauce along with more crushed or chopped tomatoes. Very good though as recipe directs. I was pleasantly suprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was my first venison recipe, and I'm so thrilled it turned out well. From reading the other reviews, I only added half of the tomato paste, and had 1 lb venison, 1 lb ground beef. This was a great recipe. For our personal taste, I will add a can of tomato sauce next time, as we like it with a bit more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Best chili ever! I made one change and it made it perfect. I substituted chili beans instead of the canneli beans. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States