Slow Cooker Venison Chili for the Big Game Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Excellent! Easy! Tried it and family loved it. Sister can's cook and hates to cook. She tried it and her family loves it also. Now she has a recipe she feels confident about making. Win/Win situation :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Good recipe, thanks for sharing. I did alter it a bit because I determined pretty early on that it was going to be much thicker than we like to serve it. I did not have pork sausage so I added rosemary and salt and pepper to a lb of ground venison to mimic a sausage flavor. I added it to the deer steak that the recipe called for. I also added in a can of red kidney beans, along with the white. I followed the recipe up to the point of adding it all together into the crockpot. I then added a dash of Worstershire sauce, a dash of soy sauce, and about 1/4 cup of whiskey. After the chili had cooked in the crock for about 4 hours, I added another 1/2 cup or so of water, as it was cooking dry. It was a big hit. Guests ate it in bowls, on hotdogs, and in Scoops chips topped with nacho dip. I will make it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Rave reviews from our company and zero leftovers! I added some celery, a can of green chiles (I only had regular canned tomatoes) and a can of kidney beans to the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I took this recipe, and used the kidney beans, added corn, sliced olives, and instead of the tomato paste I added a can of crushed tomatoes and a touch of tomato sauce. Also adding in a dash of cinnamon definitely worked well. I also used venison breakfast sausage instead of pork sausage and it worked very well! Top it off with a dollop of sour cream and it is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was an absolutely wonderful meal! I decided to only use venison for the meat source and added dried chilis..will definitely be coming back to this again this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
simply incredible, blew everyone away how good it was. I will say I have never had chili anywhere this good...maybe I just got lucky...but this recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan Richard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Have this in the slow cooker now and am seriously looking forward to trying it! One note - in the recipe it does not say what to do wiht the chili powder... I just added it to the slow cooker with the other stuff, hope that's right! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisha5186
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I changed the onion for red onion and used Chipotle hot sauce. I added two diced jalapeños to the onion and garlic to give it an extra kick. I used black beans instead of the ones they recommend. I also added Cayenne pepper and cumin to the chili powder. Overall it came out so good I couldnt share it with everyone because I ran out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Sicard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Viki1030
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Yaaay...big hit. The tomato paste was way to sweet...perhaps add less than the whole 6oz. We wanted it spicy so I added cayenne pepper to get the heat we wanted...only thing not shown in picture is the beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States