Slow Cooker Venison Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I really liked this recipe. At first I was scared to add the cream cheese, I thought it would get all grainy. I added it to a small scoopful though and it blended right in. I was also forced based on my cupboard to make a few substitutions: I substituted kidney beans for black beans, regular corn for mexicorn and threw in a few spare jalapeno peppers. It was still delicious! I have a hard time eating venison sometimes due to its gamey flavor--this recipe helped it along nicely. Would also be good without the tortillas as a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Dahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe. I just want to make a couple notes. Make sure you use THREE (3) ounces of cream cheese, not the full 8 ounce block. Also, the mexican cheese blend is optional. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My husband is also an avid hunter. I love that this recipe using the tough steaks because those are the only ones that I usually have trouble enjoying. This was very yummy and the whole family really enjoyed it. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Brown LaChance

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I had it without the shredded cheese and it was awesome. A very easy to prepare one dish meal and can feed quite a large family. One was filling enough that I didn't overeat. Quite a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
O.k., I have never entertained writing a review but WOW, this was good!! I do NOT like the taste of venison, but my husband is an avid hunter, and we have a freezer full. This was really good!! The kids ate it, I would've never known, and there are NO leftovers!! Awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great,very simple recipe - we omitted cream cheese and tortillas and served over rice - also used regular canned corn and added diced jalapenos - boys sill added tabasco to kick it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent Recipe. I also made this with chicken as I didn't have any venison in the fridge. The chicken came out very tender. I made only a few modifications: I added one 10 oz can of mexican diced tomatoes drained and then 6 oz of salsa so as not to use up all of my salsa. I also put in regular corn but then added 2 tbs of thick gourmet salsa with a red pepper base. I added a 10 oz can of refried beans and I also used 4 oz of cream cheese as to get the consistency I wanted in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Excellent! I did use a whole package of cream cheese-still turned out delicious!! And used pinto beans,since I don't care for black beans.I will make this again:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great way to use round steak! I used chili beans instead of black beans and served the mixture over rice. My family liked this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Easy and delicious! I followed the recipe but also added about 1/2 a pack of taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States