Slow Cooker Venison Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I really liked this recipe. At first I was scared to add the cream cheese, I thought it would get all grainy. I added it to a small scoopful though and it blended right in. I was also forced based on my cupboard to make a few substitutions: I substituted kidney beans for black beans, regular corn for mexicorn and threw in a few spare jalapeno peppers. It was still delicious! I have a hard time eating venison sometimes due to its gamey flavor--this recipe helped it along nicely. Would also be good without the tortillas as a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe. I just want to make a couple notes. Make sure you use THREE (3) ounces of cream cheese, not the full 8 ounce block. Also, the mexican cheese blend is optional. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My husband is also an avid hunter. I love that this recipe using the tough steaks because those are the only ones that I usually have trouble enjoying. This was very yummy and the whole family really enjoyed it. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Brown LaChance

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I had it without the shredded cheese and it was awesome. A very easy to prepare one dish meal and can feed quite a large family. One was filling enough that I didn't overeat. Quite a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
O.k., I have never entertained writing a review but WOW, this was good!! I do NOT like the taste of venison, but my husband is an avid hunter, and we have a freezer full. This was really good!! The kids ate it, I would've never known, and there are NO leftovers!! Awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great,very simple recipe - we omitted cream cheese and tortillas and served over rice - also used regular canned corn and added diced jalapenos - boys sill added tabasco to kick it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent Recipe. I also made this with chicken as I didn't have any venison in the fridge. The chicken came out very tender. I made only a few modifications: I added one 10 oz can of mexican diced tomatoes drained and then 6 oz of salsa so as not to use up all of my salsa. I also put in regular corn but then added 2 tbs of thick gourmet salsa with a red pepper base. I added a 10 oz can of refried beans and I also used 4 oz of cream cheese as to get the consistency I wanted in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Excellent! I did use a whole package of cream cheese-still turned out delicious!! And used pinto beans,since I don't care for black beans.I will make this again:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great way to use round steak! I used chili beans instead of black beans and served the mixture over rice. My family liked this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Easy and delicious! I followed the recipe but also added about 1/2 a pack of taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States