Slow Cooker Venison Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
ten stars if i could! a really really good friend made this and it was OUT OF THIS WORLD! absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was a hit at my house! Couldn't even tell it was venision. I topped mine with some sour cream and cilantro but the rest of my bunch ate it per the recipe. Definitely something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I have to say that I was surprised with this recipe. I did not use the cream cheese, because I am not a big fan. Instead I took long cooking rice with beef broth and cilantro 1 cup of uncooked rice and cooked it and addeded it to the meat mixture. It seems to add a little more flavor and makes it stretch a little more. I ended up freezing some and they come out great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was very good. I personally don't like the gamey flavor of venison, which is why I'm giving it only 4 stars. It's partially my fault because I usually soak my venison in milk for 3 days, which really cuts down the gaminess, but I was in a rush and had only soaked it for about 2 hours. But, my 3 and 5 year-old liked it a lot and my husband loved it! I will make this again, but I will definitely soak in milk a lot longer next time. Thanks for sharing a great way to change up the venison dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I used chicken because I couldn't find venison at our market - they were SO good. My fiance doesn't even care for Mexican food and he loved them! We ate them 2 days in a row!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msawyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Loved it! Couldn't taste any gamey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This recipe is wonderful ! My family eats a lot of venison, and this was a nice way to do something different with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
WOW is all i have to say about this recipie!!! i am not a big fan of deer meat but this once cooked down with all the sauces tastes like steak! i doubled the recipie for my big family and they ate it all and begged for more! best deer meat recipie i have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Clutter Laurence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made this exactly to the recipe. It was absolutely AMAZING! My venison was kind of tough so I cut it into strips before I put it in the crock pot and they were easier to break apart. Very creamy and the mexicorn added a lot of flavor. After my first burrito I added some habanero sauce to it. Made it extra spicy. Simply awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Streff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Very good recipe. Yes, as others have stated you are not able to tell it is venison used in this dish. That can be good, for those who are not partial to venison, or not so good, for those who enjoy the flavor of venison. My husband loves venison and said it was just okay, nothing special. My son and I, however, do not like the flavor of venison when it is too strong of a flavor and we found that the flavors complimented each other very nicely without any one flavor overpowering another. I also served the burritos with shredded lettuce inside which added a nice cool crisp crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States