Slow Cooker Venison Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was so easy and very delicious! I used regular corn, because that was all i had, and it still had a nice spice to it. Loved by the whole family, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My family was not fond of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I grew up on venison, not beef, and I've never had it quite like this. I used stew meat because I didn't have any round steaks left, and regular corn. I also halved the recipe and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Took more like 8-9 hours to cook, and the beans and corn got way too done (would add them more toward the last two hours of cooking). Was very watery and needed to be strained before the cream cheese was added. That being said, everyone LOVED the burritos. The slow cook with the salsa did make the meat very tasty! Would make it again with the modifications above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Quite tasty! I didn't have Mexicorn, so used regular. I also used elk steaks instead of venison and I really couldn't tell the difference. There were lots of leftovers which were great to eat with tortilla chips. Unfortunately with just two to feed we didn't make it through all the leftovers. I'll probably cut the recipe in half if I do it again. Thanks for a great idea to feed a husband who loves Mexican food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDoz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
ten stars if i could! a really really good friend made this and it was OUT OF THIS WORLD! absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was a hit at my house! Couldn't even tell it was venision. I topped mine with some sour cream and cilantro but the rest of my bunch ate it per the recipe. Definitely something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I have to say that I was surprised with this recipe. I did not use the cream cheese, because I am not a big fan. Instead I took long cooking rice with beef broth and cilantro 1 cup of uncooked rice and cooked it and addeded it to the meat mixture. It seems to add a little more flavor and makes it stretch a little more. I ended up freezing some and they come out great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was very good. I personally don't like the gamey flavor of venison, which is why I'm giving it only 4 stars. It's partially my fault because I usually soak my venison in milk for 3 days, which really cuts down the gaminess, but I was in a rush and had only soaked it for about 2 hours. But, my 3 and 5 year-old liked it a lot and my husband loved it! I will make this again, but I will definitely soak in milk a lot longer next time. Thanks for sharing a great way to change up the venison dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I used chicken because I couldn't find venison at our market - they were SO good. My fiance doesn't even care for Mexican food and he loved them! We ate them 2 days in a row!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msawyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States