Slow Cooker Vegetarian Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This has become the go to soup for our family meals. Great by itself for a dinner or as a soup dish for larger occasions. We find it very hearty. Added 1 can of garbanzo beans and it adds to the dish protein content. On occasion I add small meatballs if we want a meat dish. love this recipe it is simple to make and is not finicky about close measurement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ely, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I also am not a vegetarian, But this was great for a cold day warm up. I haven't tried yet but my wife suggested cooking it with the rind of the Parmesan. I will try some of the suggestions to add a little kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe! I couldn't help myself and had to add Italian Sausage to compliment all the great flavors which changed it from being a vegetarian dish...other than that addition, the recipe was followed as written and will become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Needs a little kick for my liking, however it's a great recipe. I normally don't review recipes if I make a change but the changes I made were after the soup was almost done. As another reviewer stated, there wasn't enough liquid to support the elbows so I keep them separate. Put them in the bowls then ladled the soup over. Also added the green Tabasco. Perfect! There is a review that says the recipe is unsafe because the kidney beans need to be cooked first. I wanted to point out that the recipe calls for canned kidney beans which are completely cooked before canning! Duh. Enjoy the soup everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I'm one of those inexperienced 'cooks' that loves the idea of home made healthy foods but due to my schedule can rarely follow through. This recipe is healthy, hearty and unbelievably easy considering the outcome. The flavor is robust and the prep time minimal. I can take it to go for lunch, serve it over pasta for dinner and freeze it for both said options in a pinch. This will be an absolute staple in my very hectic schedule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Delicious. Great for vegetarians and carnivores alike! Great flavor. The only thing I do differently is cook it in the pressure cooker and it's done in 15 minutes. Then I add the spinach, which wilts instantly and then I add the noodles that I cooked separately. (I've never put noodles in the pressure cooker, so to be safe, I cook them separately.) I've made this twice now for my family, parents and neighbors. Served with some crusty bread. It's just sooooo easy! Everyone loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
My wife and I love this recipe. I would suggest adding more salt which brings out more of the great flavor. Without the extra salt, it's a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is healthy and easy but very bland. I added more salt and a can of chick peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Very good. We cut up the veggies larger then requested and have it with out the macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie
Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Absolutely delicious soup with things I always have on hand! I doubled the spices, sautéed veggies in olive oil/butter before adding to cooker and added a can of diced tomatoes. This is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States