Slow Cooker Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Ilove this soup! It's my favorite vegtable beef soup. I disagree that it's heavy on the meat-I use 2 pounds of round steak when I make it.I add 4 cups of water,minced garlic, pinch of sugar, fresh minced parsley and a bay leaf.Some worcestershire sauce and a squirt of ketchup too. So delicious....really hits the spot on cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This soup is wonderful! It is almost like stew, there are so many vegetables in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This was a very easy recipe to follow. I like that is has common basic ingredients. It is one of the lowest in sodium content that I have found and still very flavorful!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I made it for the first time today with just a few changes (more like tweaks!). First, I only used 1/2 an onion due to our taste preferences. I used 2 cans of beef broth instead of the bullion and water, but I still had to add water to cover all the veggies! I also threw in a little garlic, thyme, and bay leaf, used a lot more pepper, and added about a cup of tomato juice to give the base a little more oomph. Because of the extra tomato, I put in about 1/4 teaspoon of sugar to round out the tartness. This was sooooooo good, my husband is still raving about it! Thank you so much for this delicious recipe. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I think this is a good basic recipe but I did make changes. Here they are: (1) not a big slowcooker fan so I made this on the stovetop instead of in the slowcooker (2) used beef broth along w/the bouillon (3) cooked the meat, potatoes, carrots, tomatoes together w/the spices for about 1-1/2 hours on medium-low then added frozen peas, cooked for another 1/2 hour, then added canned green beans. It fabulous! Served with biscuits hot from the oven. Yummy! Thanks for the idea, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This soup was excellent. I like a tomato based vegetable soup so instead of 3 cups water, I used 1 cup water and 2 cups V8 tomato juice. For sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Only two things I did differently is used beef broth instead of water and added one clove of garlic. Was the best soup! and the house smelled wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was excellent. I made it as written and my husband and I were both very happy campers. I can never go back to eating tinned beef soups again. This soup was so easy to make and also very healthy. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
it was one of the better soups I used hamburger instead of the steak and it was yummy (the whole family liked it) and thats unbelievable. Its a keeper maybe add more spices to it next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is almost as good as my mom's. The fresh veggies are key to the great taste and it's very simple to make. This version is a little heavy on the beef for my taste. Next time, I will substitute some of the actual meat for beef broth and add tomato juice (as opposed to just the diced tomatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States