Slow Cooker Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Everyone liked it but my husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leonard Anderson
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Used less mixed vege, added carrot, bit more garlic and spices, added 200 grams of stewing steak, added one cup of water. The fat from the meat make a high difference. This is my second attempt and I reckon it's better than the first which followed the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leonard Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Made it today. ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! Family & neighbors all agree. Just the thing for a very cold winter night. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Greig

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Wasnt bad, but I agree with the gummy feeling/taste review of Carlin A. Wont make again but if you prefer a brothy soup, this is more of a stewy feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
AMAZING! I didn't make dumplings just drop biscuits but my family has asked my to make this once a week since I first tried it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dakota City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this without the dumplings as I also just wanted a basic vegetable soup. This was very good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I modified it a bit, but basic ingredients and liquids the same. I added some chopped left-over roast beef to make it a meal. Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I used fresh carrots, fresh celery, fresh potatoes, pearl onions, diced canned tomatoes, canned sweet potatoes and frozen corn instead of frozen mixed vegetables. I replaced the broth with Lipton onion soup mix and omitted the barley (I hate barley. Grandma always made dumplings when I was around, sorry mom!) The sweet potatoes and pretty dumplings went into the slow cooker for the last hour. The sweet potatoes were there in the cupboard and just happened. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Really like this soup! In addition to the canned tomato, onion, garlic, potatoes and barley, I used 1 bag frozen broccoli, and half a bag each of frozen corn and peas. I also added 3 carrots, 3 stalks of celery, fresh mushrooms, a can of white beans, and 8 cups of chicken broth. I kept the herbs the same. For the dumplings, I used butter instead of shortening and just scooped some broth from the soup to make them. Perfect for cold weather days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I cooked this on high for over 5 hours and the potatoes were still not softened. Also, the barley gave the soup a gummy consistency and we thought the whole thing had a strange sour flavor. Liked the dumplings though! Next time I'll try them in a different soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States