Slow Cooker Vegetable Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I made the Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili instead of this one and it was a big mistake. That one was bland. This recipe is so good and easy. The 1/3 cup chili pepper is too hot for me, but I still eat it. I cry into my bowl, and still can't put it down. Chili heat and preference vary by brand and person, so vary it to suit you. The way the flavors blend is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was very good. I had to change some things according to my tastes or what I had on hand. I used a can of black beans and a can of white kidney beans instead of garbanzo. I omitted the zucchini and added 2/3 cup frozen white corn. I used 2 14 oz. cans of petite diced tomatoes. I don't think I even had 1/3 cup chili powder in the house; I only used 2-3 tablespoons. I added about a cup of chicken broth because the mixture seemed a little dry and I needed to use it. Omitted salt. Served with light sour cream and sharp cheddar. I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Terrific! I like spicy food and this chili had the perfect amount of kick. I added corn and used both kidney beans and chick peas (garbanzos). I ended up putting my slow-cooker on high most of the time, maybe b/c I'm impatient, but ended up cooking for 7 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This was good but had a little too much chili powder. My husband and I enjoyed it mixed with white rice. Very tasty when served over rice. The longer you cook it the better it taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Great recipe!I've made vegetable chili before, but it was never this colorful, with such a great variety of veggies. I prepared the cut vegetables the day before. My slow cooker was being used for something else that day, so a few hours before dinner,I threw the veggies, and beans into a pot on the stove, brought to a boil, and let simmer until dinner. I doubled the recipe for my family of 6 plus we had leftovers. I added 3 cans of light and dark kidney beans. I did not drain the beans, the chili really needed all that liquid to come to a simmer.I pulsed the whole tomatoes in the blender a couple times, and added another can of diced tomatoes.I doubled everything except the chili powder.I used 1 Tbsp. and it was still a bit spicy but not too spicy for the kids.It was sooo good! We topped it with shredded cheese and served this with cornbread.I will definitely make this again, next time in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Original recipe is pretty good. I used crushed tomatoes for a thicker more chili like consistency. And corn instead of zuccini, personal choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
It was a hit, and the people I served it too usually prefer meat dishes. I did make one change though, I swapped out the zucchini and added 1 can of kidney beans, and I added 1 can of corn (not creamed), and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This is a very quick recipe that is both filling and has a wonderful flavor. The variety of vegetables combine to make a savory chili (non-vegetarians won't even miss the meat, I bet). The simplicity of throwing everything in the crockpot is something to LOVE! And it's so nutritious. Your body will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
A very tasty recipe. A lot of vegetarian chili's lack in taste, but this recipe comes the closest to capturing the true chili taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
The Chili came out good. Taste was great and it felt so healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States