Slow Cooker Vegetable Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Not at all a personal fave. The chili cooked up rather thin, and the large amount of chili powder was overwhelming, not allowing for much complexity of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Easy to make, delicious and versitile. I've made it 4 times, and my hubby the vegeterian loves it! I generally toss in an extra can of beans (such as black beans or pinto beans) along with the chick peas, just to make it a little thicker and hardier and I use whatever veggies I have on hand. Definatley a recipe I will use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was very good with a rich and hearty flavor and texture. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and the veggies were still a bit too crunchy at that point. I ended up cooking it on high for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was very good. I had to change some things according to my tastes or what I had on hand. I used a can of black beans and a can of white kidney beans instead of garbanzo. I omitted the zucchini and added 2/3 cup frozen white corn. I used 2 14 oz. cans of petite diced tomatoes. I don't think I even had 1/3 cup chili powder in the house; I only used 2-3 tablespoons. I added about a cup of chicken broth because the mixture seemed a little dry and I needed to use it. Omitted salt. Served with light sour cream and sharp cheddar. I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
The only thing I added to this recipe was shredded cheddar as soon as it was served and I have to say I wouldn't change another thing! It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is a gorgeous looking dinner! My husband loved it, his only suggestion was to cut WAY down on the chili powder (and for him to say it's too hot is unusual.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Original recipe is pretty good. I used crushed tomatoes for a thicker more chili like consistency. And corn instead of zuccini, personal choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I made the Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili instead of this one and it was a big mistake. That one was bland. This recipe is so good and easy. The 1/3 cup chili pepper is too hot for me, but I still eat it. I cry into my bowl, and still can't put it down. Chili heat and preference vary by brand and person, so vary it to suit you. The way the flavors blend is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I was looking for a good, healthy chili recipe; I found it with this one. I did add a small ammount of beef to it and used kidney beans instead of chickpeas,and it was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
It was a hit, and the people I served it too usually prefer meat dishes. I did make one change though, I swapped out the zucchini and added 1 can of kidney beans, and I added 1 can of corn (not creamed), and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States