Slow Cooker Vegetable Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This tasted weird. I put less chili powder in than the recipe called for, due to what other reviewers said, and it still had too much chili powder. Also, the carrots did not get cooked all the way. It was good enough to eat, but I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made this for a Superbowl party and it was a huge hit. My co-worker said it tasted like Stagg Veggie chili- but better! I love this recipe, but I added red onions and a small can of green chiles. Also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
We used this recipe for the first time we made chili - and it turned out amazing! The true test was feeding it to 4 unsuspecting friends, and each and everyone went back for seconds! Was extremely filling. We added some meat, zuchini, and about half of the chili powder. We also added some diced jalapeno - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is my favorite veggie chili recipe. I serve it a lot for parties and even the people who arent vegetarian love it. I serve it with sour cream and cheese on top and sometimes I serve it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This chili has just the right amount of heat for me, and I thought the spices melded beautifully. While I generally like garbanzos--chick peas--I think black beans, with their smoky flavor, might taste better in this recipe; I'll substitute them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was delicious and so simple! What is great about this recipe is that on its own its great, but it takes no effort to add any other ingredient you wish! I could easily add everything I like in chili, even what I've never had in it before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kady-June

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Wonderful! I love crockpot recipes that are forgiving like this one, you can pretty much throw in whatever you have on hand. I sauteed the onions first in olive oil with some garlic (because they get weird if I don't) and added 2 big diced zucchinis to the pan for a few minutes before throwing it all in the crockpot. I threw 3 cans of beans in (2 drained, one undrained)(kidney, black and pinto), nixing the garbanzo beans. I only used 3 TBLspoons of chili powder, but doubled the oregano and cumin because I love those two together!! It came out amazing, so delicious. This is my go to chili recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Delicious!! I had never eaten Chili before, I detest Kidney beans and the idea of using another type of bean never dawned on me. But this was fantastic! I had no fresh veggys on hand, so I used 3 cups of frozen mixed vegetables as a substitute (the package I used had red, yellow and green peppers, onions, zuchini, eggplant, and mushrooms). This recipe took me about 7 minutes to make, and that includes running back and forth to the computer to check the measurements. This will become a regular meal in my home! Super fast, super easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I stick to as rigorous a food plan as possible, with portioned protein and whole carbohydrates so this looked like just the ticket -- and it was! I added extra zucchini, tomatoes, beans and carrots but stuck to the seasoning, which is intense. It will have lasted a single person four nights and so, so good on the first really chilly nights in November, with either chicken or peanuts added for the protein I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Great recipe!I've made vegetable chili before, but it was never this colorful, with such a great variety of veggies. I prepared the cut vegetables the day before. My slow cooker was being used for something else that day, so a few hours before dinner,I threw the veggies, and beans into a pot on the stove, brought to a boil, and let simmer until dinner. I doubled the recipe for my family of 6 plus we had leftovers. I added 3 cans of light and dark kidney beans. I did not drain the beans, the chili really needed all that liquid to come to a simmer.I pulsed the whole tomatoes in the blender a couple times, and added another can of diced tomatoes.I doubled everything except the chili powder.I used 1 Tbsp. and it was still a bit spicy but not too spicy for the kids.It was sooo good! We topped it with shredded cheese and served this with cornbread.I will definitely make this again, next time in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States