Slow Cooker Vegetable Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a good, hearty, tasty vegetarian chili. I just made minor adjustments. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of crushed, 2 cans of garbanzo beans instead of just 1. I added more garlic. I decreased the chili powder to one tablespoon. I found it to be on spicy side for me. I cannot imagine using 1/3 cup chili powder in this recipe. It would have made it inedible for my taste buds. Next time I will use even less than 1 Tablespoon. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is the best chili recipe. The key is the sauted celery, onion, garlic, and especially the corn. I use frozen corn of good quality when not in season. I have varied the types of beans and added tomato sauce (sweeter and saltier, but my husband likes it) and usually have to add water, unless putting it in the crock pot. My biggest change is using taragon instead of oregano once cooking without my glasses. Taragon isn't usually a favorite, but was a BIG hit in this chili, do so I use it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I am NOT a vegetarian so I was a little skeptical, but this was great!! I actually added crackers and cream cheese to it when it was done, and used it for a dip instead of a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DadofFive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Absolutely delicious! The chili powder makes it so spicy, but it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I found this recipe to be very bland as chili. Having said that, I adapted the "chili" by adding it to chicken broth to make a half decent vegetable soup. I wouldn't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Pretty good! It's really hearty and lots of good stuff in there. I made a few modifications... First of all, I don't think it's too spicy, so I'd leave the chili powder as is. Second, I omitted the onions and added corn. I also left out the celery (due to the ingredients I had around). I served it with Balsmati white rice, it's hearty enough to go right over the top. Really good. I put a little parmasan cheese on top as well. If you want it to be more "soupy" I'd definitely add water or chicken broth. This has more of the consistency of a stew. But, I like it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
We loved it! The we is my daughter and I - my husband wouldn't even taste it - no meat. I omitted the zucchini and doubled the carrots, added extra onion, black beans and extra spices. It was perfect and even better the next day. Thanks for the recipe. I am sending to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great! The only change I made was cutting the chili powder in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaxmona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was great! I may try adding zucchini later because it was too soft for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is a great vegetarian chili! My husband, who told me that you can't make chile without meat, even went back for seconds! I changed a couple of things after making it the first time, but even without the changes it was still great. I used 2 tablespoons of chili powder instead of 1/3 of a cup, which seemed like a lot. I also just squeeze the juice of the canned tomatoes out and then trow the tomatoes out. I put in 2 diced up fresh tomatoes instead. (I'm not a huge fan of canned tomatoes.) I put in a can of black beans, a can of kidney beans, and a can of garbanzo beans, all drained. I add a little extra of each seasoning, just for a little bit of a stronger taste. I added half a package of frozen corn also. While slicing the zucchini and carrots, after they are all sliced I usually cut them into halfs and thirds. I also put in half of a jar of banana peppers instead of the can of chopped chile peppers. I think it adds better flavor. This is a great recipe and everyone who eats it always goes back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States